1700

This morning the Wii Fit Balance Board let me know that it’s been 1700 days since we first met. Sadly that doesn’t mean that it’s been used anywhere near that many times. Especially not during the month it was in transit from San Francisco to our current city, but that’s a tale for another day.

I am officially back on the yoga train. I ideally want to start running again tonight. It’s probably a bit bad of me, but I’m happy for the cold weather because it gives me an excuse to use the treadmill instead of running outdoors. I was greeted by my first frost-covered windshield of the season this morning. It’s officially going below freezing at night and the curse that is ragweed is finally going to meet its fate. I’m pretty allergic to the stuff, so I couldn’t be happier. 

Speaking of happy, Latte said something last night that made me happy (happy but a bit confused). She was explaining her opinion of seriousness of drugs and said that she’d rather find out our kid was abusing marijuana than Adderall. This is a large part of why I think she’ll come around it’s just almost a fact for us.

Before we married, we talked often about what parenting choices we’d make, and we had a timeline (a timeline that would put us in the “get-kid” territory right now actually). We picked our neighborhood (a year and a half ago) for the really good public high school the child would be able to enroll in. This “I don’t want a kid” thing popped up just a few months ago when she was going through a rough patch. Now she’s doing much better. I agree that her concerns are valid but I believe they can be addressed without such a huge change in our previously mutually agreed upon plans. I’m definitely fine delaying the kid a year or maybe even two. I support her having a career.

I don’t see a career and having a child as mutually exclusive, and am confused as to her insistence that it would be so. And I am working out what we need to do to make it financially with a kid. I grew up wearing Good Will clothing, as did Latte, and neither of us see anything wrong with it for children (and for non-work clothes for ourselves). We’re proponents of public education and live in a very gay-friendly city. Our street has many gay couples and a few obviously-gay friendly young families. It’s a good place to have a gay family. (Also there is a lady two doors down who does day care out of her home.) But to offset the cost of day care we need to bring in more income, which is entirely doable. I’m just at entry level now, so in five years things’ll be better financially.

About DeCaf

Just a code monkey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 1700

  1. Molly says:

    My wife and I have always been at opposite ends of the “let’s have kids NOW” spectrum. When she wants to drop everything and have a baby, I’ll come up with a thousand reasons to wait. When I want to drop everything and have a baby, she throws those thousand reasons back at me. In January, we had a long talk/fight/cry fest and I convinced her that the time will never be perfect, and that I’m not getting any younger. Even though we started exploring our options after that, she didn’t really start getting excited and totally jump on board until a few months ago. I know I was rushing her, but she came around and I have no regrets.

  2. Lindsay says:

    My grandma always said if you wait for the “right time” to have a child, you’ll never have a child! There comes a time when you just need to go for it. Of course, it’s good to have your ducks in a row. But it sounds like you are there, or well on your way there. You will be an amazing parent. You put more thought into it than many people who are already parents do/have!

Leave a Reply

