The 30 day shred

So yesterday I decided it would be the first day of the 30 day shred for me. I got through about 10 minutes of the workout before I needed to turn it off. I learned a valuable lesson, it’s not a great idea for me to decide “oh, I’ll do everything the ‘advanced’ way”. I’m going to try to do all of stage 1 sans weights when I get home, I’m going to power through it.

And I’m going to make low-sugar brownies, as I’m working out for strength, not weight loss. I’m sure if I’m able to complete 30 days of it, I’ll be fit enough to do a 5k next summer. I’m one of those weird people who is fairly thin, who is actually out of shape and has to work hard to get and stay in shape. Also, despite looking like someone who’d be good at running, I’m horrible at it.

Last night Latte asked our roommate a question about postpartum life (that roommate’s sister recently had a baby, the question was one that he didn’t know the answer to or feel comfortable asking his sister). And she gushed about a kid we saw at Target Saturday. I think she’s liking the idea of us having a kid more and more. 🙂 

About DeCaf

Just a code monkey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The 30 day shred

  1. butchjax says:

    Have you tried couch 2 5k? It’s quite good at getting you able to run a 5k. That doesn’t mean strength is bad, it’s quite good, but strength itself won’t give you the endurance to run. Also, look into chi running, which is better for your body and more efficient, so easier for learning to run. 🙂 Good luck!

    • DeCaf says:

      Thanks. I haven’t heard of couch 2 5k. The 30 day shred has you moving constantly actually, but I will probably start jogging increased distances again when I’m done with it.

  2. Emz says:

    wow, I am impressed, I couldn’t run 5 yards without collapsing into a pathetic sweaty mess. Good for you!

Leave a Reply

