Better and Better

If I believed in The Secret (no link, it’s B.S. Google it if you really want to know), I’d say my new found positiveness has paid off. Last night was awesome. I did Day 4, I baked low-sugar brownies (I need more calories with the work outs), I cuddle with Latte and we watched a couple more episodes of Grey’s Anatomy (we’re now in season 2 episode 5 or so), I brought up us going to the Maybe Baby seminar next year and she agreed. I told her about GAL (guardian-ad-litem) and CASA (court appointed special advocate) avenues she could help children in foster care that would potentially be meaningful for her. Also, today I’m only a very tiny amount of sore/stiff. I think it’s time to do non-modified exercises (the push-ups will kill me tomorrow, but it’s all good). So, things are going great. Couldn’t be better. 

I’m seriously looking forward to buying a new book Saturday. On Saturdays we go to Good Will, and I’ve started buying books I want our kid to read (think Ann of Green Gables, Tuck Everylasting, etc). The books are all cheap, and it goes to a good cause. There’s really no point in buying many new books for a child when you can collect them used. Also it gives me something to do that feels productive.

When I was younger my family practically abused the library system. I very much come from a family of readers. One of my happiest memories as a child was the time when we sat in one Holy Thursday and just sat around reading in the family room instead of going to church. 🙂

About DeCaf

Just a code monkey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Better and Better

  1. Molly says:

    I’m afraid to buy anything even remotely future-child related for fear of jinxing things! I ALMOST broke down a few weeks ago and bought a stack of Little Golden Books at an antique shop, but I stopped myself before I got to the register. 🙂

    • DeCaf says:

      Books aren’t jinxing it. They’re different than clothes or furniture, at least that’s how I feel. And I can give the books easily enough to a cousin for their kid worse comes to worse.

  2. Lindsay says:

    I love it. I don’t come from a long line of readers. I was the first in my family to have an ongoing love affair with books. In so many of my childhood photos, my nose is behind a book. I hope to instill that love in Evelyn. So lovely that you’re already starting a collection for your future kid(dos)

Leave a Reply

