Saturday Books

Image

Here are today’s books. I saw Bridge to Terabithia and Charlotte’s Web and needed to get both of them. When I explained to Latte why I was getting them, she ran off and grabbed the Aesop’s Fables. 🙂 

Bridge to Terabithia – This was one of the most moving books I read as a child. It was the first encounter I feel like I had with death. I had never really known anyone who had died. Not that a fictional character is an actual person, but for me books were my escapes from my worries of childhood. I cried openly over that death. Also, what kind of hotel chain really wants kids to associate that book with staying there? It’s a great book, but it’s a book that probably is best to read with a discussion planned afterwords.

Charlotte’s Web – Just like Wilbur is some pig, this is some book. One of my favorite movies growing up was actually the 1973 animated version of it. Such a sweet story. 🙂

Aesop’s Fables – Latte picked this one out. The illustrations are all colorful watercolors. It will be enjoyed I am sure.

Sorry this post is late. 

 

About DeCaf

Just a code monkey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Saturday Books

  1. I remember Aesop’s fables from when I was a child and could recite a number of them. When I got my kindle one of the first things I as did was download them all. Great book haul there!

  2. Lindsay says:

    Bridge to Terabithia was the first book that ever made me cry. It will always have a special place in my heart!

  3. Loved Bridge to Terabithia, also Where the Red Fern Grows. Those were tear jerkers for 9 year old me.

Leave a Reply

