Getting to where I need to be

This weekend I started a project. I noticed I was spending too much of my free time on facebook playing Pet Rescue Saga. For those of you with lives/better things to do Pet Rescue Saga is a fairly mindless game where you find sets of same colored blocks to remove with an end goal of clearing so many, “rescuing” pets by clearing all blocks below them, or other trivial tasks. It’s a waste of time and great at turning off your brain. But I noticed I was playing it a lot. And there are other things I want to do with my precious time at home (blog better, read more, etc). Now I’m not horrible, I just finished day 17 of the 30 day shred yesterday, but I could be doing more self-improvement. Or at least do more cleaning. So I’ve started getting off my computer and reading during the evening.

Right now I’m reading Gone Girl, which is right up my alley in terms of writing (plot twists, I love Nick’s count of how many times he’s lied). I’m not even 10% done with it, so I hope that I haven’t spoiled anything for anyone (and please don’t spoil me). This is a book I will probably finish and then go back through to try to spot the lies. I tend to be a pretty honest and trusting person, so right now I have no idea what he’s lied about exactly. 

On my bookshelf, I have “Confessions of the Other Mother” to read. I’ve started it, just need to keep going at it. One of the things I love about living in a city with a strong LGBT presence is how many useful gay-themed books I can find at the used books store. I don’t really ever pay full price for books unless I want to. (And I do want to sometimes to support various authors.)

Tonight’s the big meeting with Latte’s shrink. It should be interesting, I don’t know what a CBT therapist will want to really talk about with me. My uneasiness about the actual meeting has been replaced with fear about the driving involved. The weather here is so horrible this week (thanks to a couple inches of snow it took about an hr to get all 10 miles home yesterday, and that was via backroads, the highway would’ve taken longer). It will be raining/snowing when I leave work until when we get home for the night.  At nine tonight a winter storm warning starts. Tomorrow I need to get up early so I can get to work at a reasonable hour.  

About DeCaf

Just a code monkey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Getting to where I need to be

  1. Molly says:

    I thought Gone Girl was a few hundred pages too long, but I liked it. You’re right about the plot twists, though–crazy!!! Good luck tonight–with the appointment and the weather.

  2. Lindsay says:

    I liked Gone Girl a lot! Good, quick read.

    Good luck at the therapists. Hope you’ll share what happens with us!

    • DeCaf says:

      I will. It could turn out to be something other than what I’m hoping for or expecting. Latte is one of those magical people who operates well without details, unlike me, who craves them, and she’s the only one who has talked to him.

  3. I didn’t really get in to “Confessions of the Other Mother” but enjoyed “She Looks Just Like You”. I wouldn’t say it was a great read but it opened up some new conversations between my partner and me.

Leave a Reply

