Ovulation Prediction Kit (opk) questions

So apparently I can buy a kit of 20 for $16 at C.V.S, which is about what I want to spend to see if I should go with the plain ones or spring for the digital kind. I’m prone to second guessing myself and it seems like the digital kind would give me less uncertainty to obsess with.

Because I am that woman, I read the instructions. It said to use first morning urine. Compared to various online things where people have said it’s better to test midday to early evening (since apparently that’s when LH is more likely to be released?).

Also, I think Latte wants in on the interpreting of the pee sticks.

PS- I think I need a timer, since apparently according to the instructions they can only be read between 4-5 minutes or something nonsensical like that. I’m guessing it’s likely the amount of time it takes for the pee to travel to the top of the stick? Anyone know?

PPS- I’m really happy I’m doing this as a dry run, I think that doing it during a cycle we were planning to use would’ve been stressful for me. I think I’ll plan on repeating this in January so I can feel sure and secure about it. We’re talking about starting to try in Feb.

About DeCaf

Just a code monkey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Ovulation Prediction Kit (opk) questions

  1. butchjax says:

    Until you are actually going to make the appointment for insemination, I wouldn’t spend the money on digital, personally. It gets real expensive. The cheap strips allow you to experiment with timing over the whole 7 days or so you could ovulate without feeling like you’re wasting money. Every body is different. For some the surge is in the late morning so they want you to test in the afternoon. Some people surge early, so they should test before lunch. And if you stay hydrated so you pee a lot, you want to try to hold your pee longer so you aren’t diluting the hormones out (one of my problems I finally realized).
    These are what I use: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004IJHDN6/ref=oh_details_o05_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
    I like that it isn’t black or white. I can compare the intensity of the hormone levels and watch them rise over time. For people who like to understand, which is what you guys seem to be, I think you’ll find them much more interesting and more informative. Just pick up some dixie cups to pee into and you’re off and running!
    Also, there is an app you can use to track everything called My Cycles. it’s been quite helpful for me, and it came recommended by another blogger.

    Remember to have fun with this. 🙂 It’s science in action! hehe

    • DeCaf says:

      I do have an undergrad degree in Biology and actually took a class in immunology which covers the technology that is used in these tests (and pregnancy tests too). 🙂

      The ones I got are similar to those, just it comes with a plastic cup. I wasn’t planning on doing digital before it was a cycle that we were planning on using, unless we weren’t able to could figure out when I ovulate.

      It looks like that my cycle isn’t compatible with my smart phone (my smart phone is kind of ancient). :-/ I’ve used a website to track my cycle length, it says it can predict ovulation, but doesn’t seem to have the same amount of detail as fertility friend. Then again, I’m the lady who refuses to temp (I’m prone to a 3-5 am pee and hitting the snooze button a lot).

  2. Molly says:

    Our clinic has us use only First Response non-digital tests. They told us that they give a narrower window for ovulation versus the other tests and that it’s better when inseminating with frozen sperm because that window is narrower as well. That said, when I’m just testing for the sake of keeping track of my cycles versus testing for actual insemination, I order the Wondfo cheapies off of Amazon. In terms of timing, our clinic has us use 2nd morning urine. They make me set an alarm for 5 am, get up and pee, then go back to sleep until 8 am (or hold it until 8 am) and test at 8 am. You should really hold it for 2.5-3 hours before testing.

  3. Becca says:

    This was my method: Buy the cheap Wondfo OPKs on amazon, I’d get like 50 for $25 or something. They are just as reliable as the digital and then when the test line was getting really close to the control line I would confirm with the digital. If you are just doing a test run, I would only test once a day because you’ll likely catch your surge within a 24 hour period. It doesn’t matter if it’s first morning urine, most OPKs say don’t test with FMU, so just do it at a consistent time that works for you with concentrated urine, I would hold for 3 hours usually. If you really want to have some fun, cross reference with cervical mucus and cervical position lol.

    • butchjax says:

      I just ordered the first response, and I’ll use both when it’s closer to the time. I mean, there’s plenty of pee in the cup! lol

      • DeCaf says:

        First response seems to have the benefit of not needing to be put in urine in a cup. 🙂

        • Molly says:

          I still use a cup with First Response. I’m always afraid I’ll miss the mark and the test will be ruined and those things are expensive! LOL Also, I like the safety of knowing that if something does go wrong with the test, I still have the cup so I can take another test if need be. I’m obsessive like that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

