Weekend Recap

So, Latte’s excited enough for us to get on the TTC train February to take a second job (her first job is painting/selling art and it’s kind of sporadic anyway as it’s self-directed and I love her but she gets distracted very easily).

Part of it is that she thinks it’d be best if I weren’t very pregnant in August (it’s too hot enough as is and I agree) or Feb/March (Betty can knock me over if I’m on ice). I think I need to dig up a chart showing the odds of conception per month of trying so she can realize that the odds of us conceiving on the first try are really tiny. It’d be great if it happened, for sure, but I’m planning on it taking more than a couple tries (probably 5-7).

We went to my cousin’s bridal shower. It was organized by my mom who isn’t great with organizing anything but children. It went well. I’d kind of been avoiding my mom for a while since she is very passive-aggressively against my marriage. But she was nice enough yesterday. Maybe a grandbaby is going to make her more accepting? Who knows.

Latte and MtnDew had an argument or something. I’m not entirely sure, I don’t manage other adults’ relationships with each other. We visited him last night and gave him his Christmas gift (Despicable Me 2 – he loved it. I was bothered by the ‘kids need a mom even if they have a dad’-theme, single parents can be great parents and women aren’t the only ones who can nurture children).

About DeCaf

Just a code monkey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Weekend Recap

  1. butchjax says:

    I don’t know where you’re getting your statistics from but iui on a person without fertility issues is basically 50-50. But stop looking at the statistics. They mean nothing for any individual try. Lots of people get pregnant on the first try. To expect 5-7 means you are creating that outcome. The child will come when the circumstances are right. If that means the first try it will be that. Creating a baby is very little science in the end. Relax about it all and let things happen. Don’t try to work out the timing. If you stay out of your own way it will work out perfectly.

    • DeCaf says:

      I don’t know of any fertility issues I have, but there’s no real way to rule out all unknown fertility issues before trying. I’m actually just trying to remove the pressure for myself from the first few attempts by not expecting anything to come of it. I’m very open to it working the first time. 🙂 Bringing a fairly new baby to Christmas next year sounds delightful. I just don’t want to put all of my hopes into that.
      Also fertility issues seem to be random, some people conceive right away after switching donors or moving up to back the timing, etc… There are an insane number of variables.

      • butchjax says:

        Yep, loads of variables. Trying to figure it out will not work. I recommend thinking about it as little as possible. All it does is get in the way of the process. I totally understand it, but I went through some great processing this weekend with people to get my head out of the equation, and to get out of the way. It took multiple times to work on it, but I feel a lot better about it now. 🙂 And all those outside pressures, recognize them for what they are. Then return them to sender. You don’t need to take on any pressure.

Leave a Reply

