Happy New Year!

I’m  very zen today. I had one drink at the party. Latte on the other hand drank too much because things got awkward and is hung over. She’s sworn to not drink anything alcoholic other than wine and beer when I can’t. She is hearty-Iowan stock, and went to ISU so she doesn’t really get drunk on beer/wine. 

I’ve decided that I want to try to run a 5k this year. I want to try to start running today. I assume that if I’m feeling alright, I can continue to run while TTC-ing. I’ll ask the doctor on Monday.

 

Also, fellow TTC-ers/people who have TTC-ed in the past:

What would you recommend I ask the doctor on Monday? I know I need to have my CMV status checked. I already know my blood type (A+). Is there anything else I should ask? Latte and I both are on board with doing ICI at home at least a couple times before considering IUI or anything more medical.

Here are some pictures of recovered-BoyCat:

Image Image

 

Here’s a close up of where they shaved his legs for the IV (Latte calls them his cuffs of shame):

Image

 

Here’s to a great 2014 and babies for everyone who’s trying. 🙂

 

About DeCaf

Just a code monkey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Happy New Year!

  1. butchjax says:

    If you’re doing the first tries at home, you don’t even have to use a doctor. Just work with a sperm bank that prepares sperm for home insemination. So that’s certainly cheaper, and plenty of people have done it that way. 🙂

    I wish I had asked more about what things would interfere with ovulation and pregnancy. I was taking an anti-inflammatory too long which likely caused me to not ovulate one month. But it’s hard to know. For me, it helps to know why I shouldn’t take a medication or something.

    As for running, it’s certainly doable. My recommendation is to learn chi running, which will put less stress on your joints which makes it easier to run with the added weight. It’s more efficient and when you get the technique parts working out, it feels amazing! It’s effortless. They have a nice app for around $10 which has all the stuff from the dvds, I think at least, and is cheaper than the dvds. Couple that with couch to 5k and you’ll be running in no time. It worked for me and I have always sucked at running. lol I also found it helpful to read about things that inspire me to run. There’s a book, Born to Run, that made the biggest difference for me philosophically. Running is so much more mental that most people realize. 🙂 And if you find running doesn’t work as well as you’d like, check into swimming. it’ll be really nice as you put on the baby weight.

    Here’s to an amazing 2014!

  2. Lindsay says:

    Kudos to you for not being hungover! I’ve spent MANY New Years Days being hungover and this year I’m definitely not!

    I did home insems (with fresh, not frozen) and I have tons of advice for you when you get to that point.

  3. mamaetmaman says:

    I would have a thyroid panel done: TSH, free T3, T4. Studies have shown that it is significantly more difficult to get pregnant if your thyroid is under active.

    I loved the book “Born to Run” as well. I am sure you can accomplish your goal of running 5km with the right plan. The key is to form a habit out of it. A run/walk plan is a good place to start, and keeping a good core and form will allow you to continue when preggo. Good luck!

  4. X says:

    Based on my recent experiences, I would be sure to ask if there are any requirements that will need to happen before an office insem. That is, the doc may be able to clear you for at home without lots of testing, etc. but may require those things in the office and you may be able to get some of them done routinely (without additional cost) just in case you end up going that route (and also to avoid delays if you head in that direction).

    You may also want to ask for any specific recommendations your doctor has about trying at home. You may hear information that you would not have gotten otherwise, which could be useful.

    • DeCaf says:

      Good idea. I know my work has a little coverage for infertility (not enough to, say, cover IVF but enough to at least get diagnostic work done and maybe a IUI or two).

  5. We’re using the only bank I could find that doesn’t require doctor sign off. If you want to know more, let me know. Your doctor may not sign off for you to do things are home.

  6. I never found my doctor to be too helpful, she was just very reassuring and encouraging. She did test my thyroid, which was fine. I could never get a hold of her to sign the paperwork for the sperm bank and wasn’t going to schedule an appt just for that, but another ob/gyn in the practice was already registered so we used her name. The banks are just trying to make money, it seems like there are hoops to jump through, but there really isn’t. If you live within driving distance to a bank, I’d suggest looking into that, we saved a lot of money and time on shipping that way. Just keep tracking your temps and other signs consistently until you start trying and give it a whirl!

    • DeCaf says:

      We do live within driving distance (it’s like 10 miles away and they do offer patient pick-up). I will look into doing that if the appointment doesn’t seem fruitful. I definitely do need to a see a doctor no matter what route we go, as I have questions about medication/thyroid/etc.

Leave a Reply

