CMV Results

It turns out that I’m IgG negative for CMV. Darnit. 

About DeCaf

Just a code monkey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to CMV Results

  1. Lindsay says:

    So that means you can’t use any donors who are +? Does that limit your pool by a lot?

  2. X says:

    For what it’s worth, I was disappointed learning I was negative, too, but having a smaller donor pool made donor selection much easier.

  3. well congrats you don’t have herpes lol! I just assumed I was CMV negative b/c I’ve never had a cold sore. I know I could very well have been exposed to it, but we were in a rush to buy sperm on sale before the new year last year so we had to make a quick decision. We ended up finding 2 CMV negative donors we liked, so it may narrow your pool, but you’ll hopefully find a donor you feel good about.

    • also, lots of choices is very overwhelming, narrowing it down is actually very helpful.

    • DeCaf says:

      I thought that CMV was related to but the the same as herpes (everything I’ve read says that it’s mostly asymptomatic in adults).

      • yeah, most people have been exposed to it and are carriers but have never broke out, or have once or twice and maybe never noticed b/c it was mild and maybe not in a typical place like the lip. But if you have been exposed to it I believe you could have a break out at any time if it is dormant. Stress is the main trigger I think.

Leave a Reply

