Eating Better for one

I haven’t been saying much lately. That’s in part because I’m really feeling blue, I had hoped I’d have a new job by now. But alas. Waiting to hear back from three places I’ve had really solid interviews at. 

Since I’m f-Unemployed, I’m working on eating better. I’m a creature of habit who doesn’t care much for fruits and often forgets veggies, but I’m working on it! 

This morning I had grits with Sunflower-butter (like peanut butter but doesn’t make my throat hurt) and a banana. For lunch I’m going to have an egg and three servings of mixed veggies. And for dinner I will have fortified cereal because I’m secretly six and can’t be perfect all the time. 

This is a great improvement over my normal only sunflower-butter for breakfast, lunch of prepackaged food, and dinner of vegan mac and fake-cheese. I’m getting more fiber. One thing I worry about when/if I get pregnant is the constipation. I’m already prone to it if I don’t force myself to eat a lot of fiber. Also one of my PMS symptoms is constipation. Fun fact.

I’m thinking I may break out the dried figs when the time comes. 

About DeCaf

Just a code monkey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Eating Better for one

  1. Molly says:

    I am prone to the same issues. It’s so fun! I eat veggies like they’re going to disappear from the earth and i was still having problems until I started eating a bit of dark chocolate after my workouts in the evening. I don’t know if it’s coincidence or not. I’m thinking maybe the extra fat/oil in the chocolate is helping in combination with the fiber in the veggies? I have no clue. I’m not about to mess with it if it’s working, though!

    • DeCaf says:

      I think caffeine is a laxative. When my system is good I tend to go after my second cup of black tea of the day. Of course it’s not full-proof for me. The only thing that’s foolproof for me is being off my anxiety meds and worrying a lot.
      Trader Joe’s brown rice crispies work well for me too. They taste horrible though (like super-sweet cardboard).

      • You should pick up a copy of “the fertility diet” it’s a bit on the scientific side so scanning will happen but he makes some really great points on what is and isn’t helpful before TTC. I need to get back on the bandwagon when I get home cause I felt better when following (most) of the rules.

Leave a Reply

