Offer Received!

So I’ve been made an offer. It’s at the low end of what I was hoping for. Also, they don’t want me to start until the 24th and I wouldn’t be able to enroll for benefits until April or May (yuck!). But it is at the place I was hoping for. So, I’m hoping that it can wait until Monday for me to decide. And I hope the other places will get back to me by then too.

About DeCaf

Just a code monkey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Offer Received!

  1. butchjax says:

    Why such a delay for benefits? And have you thought about a counter proposal?

    • DeCaf says:

      I don’t know, they start the first month after 60 days of employment. IDK why, but that’s their policy. It kind of sucks, I should ask why.

      I am not a good negotiator, I am going to go on a Google-search quest for how to do it well (advice would be appreciated).

  2. I would suggest a counter offer as well.

  3. Lindsay says:

    Congratulations! I’d counter-offer since you have so many other prospects.

  4. X says:

    Woot! Congratulations! Must be a relief, even if it now brings on more pondering and decision making 🙂

  5. mamaetmaman says:

    Congrats! Sounds like you were snatched up pretty quickly, which must feel relieving. Glad you are at the place you wanted to work at. May will come quickly, and before you know it, it will be go-time again! It’ll be better to settle into the new job for a few months anyway. Less stress for TTC-ing!

    • DeCaf says:

      It’s been almost a month, but given that I’ve had 18 interviews in that time, I guess it’s quick? I don’t know. The first place I interviewed for still hasn’t gotten back to me (I’ve been contacting the poor HR lady and it seems like the hiring manager just like avoiding the office or something?).
      I think we’re going to start in June, no February baby for us. It’s crazy cold in Feb. here.

  6. Molly says:

    It’s a step in the right direction for sure! I say make them a counter offer. When I’m hiring, I would absolutely be willing to accept a reasonable counter. Once I set my mind on hiring someone, I’ve already decided that no one else fits the bill and that that’s the person I really want. There’s room for negotiation if it means I get my first choice.

  7. Pops says:

    Congrats on the offer! Counter offers although at time nerv recking and uncomfortable are so worth it. You may just get what you were hoping for and at worst all they say is no. We’ve typically accepted or up’d offers at my work when someone counters. When Oli got a new job offer, I convinced her to counter even though she would have accepted either way. I just felt like every offer needs a counter. She ended getting a little more, which is better than nothing. It sounds like you have great potentials headed your way though! That’s the most aggressive job search I’ve heard of… Very impressive!

Leave a Reply

