Weaning

So I’m starting to wean myself off of ef.fexor. I’ve done it before, but I don’t really remember how it went. It was during my undergraduate where what was on the next test was all consuming and how I was feeling was the furthest thing from my mind because I was finally not feeling horrible all the time (this was when I became gluten/dairy-free and finally began to experience days without gastrointestinal distress which was completely amazing). It wasn’t particularly as traumatic as the sites that come up if you search for “withdrawal” and the medication name. But I did it slowly and I will do it slowly this month. Next month I will be medication-free. I’ve done it before and it wasn’t too bad, it’s not like I suddenly became a ball of anxiety. It took a very stressful situation to reawaken it.

 

About DeCaf

Just a code monkey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Weaning

  1. Molly says:

    Good luck! Hope it’s a smooth transition.

  2. My weaning off of Efexor was horrible. I had vertigo, nausea, I was an absolute emotional wreck, and that first week completely off of it I also got my period (from hell) which just made everything that much worse. Hoping for a smooth, painless transition for you!

    • DeCaf says:

      I’m only going off of 75 mg/day this time. Last time it was coming off of 225/day (I kept on reducing it over a couple months last time).
      I did notice that it makes my periods less crampy. Thankfully normally a heating pad + ibuprofen cuts it for me even when they’re bad.

Leave a Reply

