We have a positive OPK

So I’ve been testing twice a day this month. Yesterday was very negative, I was starting to worry if I was actually going to ovulate this cycle. This morning I was greeted by the most positive OPK ever (like the control line looked weak next to the test line). This evening it’s a weaker positive.

I joked with Latte (whose birthday it is today) that if we really wanted to we could probably rush the sperm and pick it up tomorrow. We’re not going to, but this cycle has been crazy good with fertility signs (temping and CM have been all very clear). Here’s hoping next cycle with come in 14 days and have just as clear signs!

Anyway, it’s Latte’s birthday, not a major one, but the last one before I certain major one. 🙂  We’re going out for karaoke later. I’m a bit sleepy, I woke up at 5 with energy this morning. Part of me wanted to get up and do a 20 minute workout and a lot of me wants to go for a two mile run again, but I must save my energy to survive being up late tonight. 

Tonight I’ll be the Designated Driver (because that’s how I roll, on the plus side this means nobody’ll be able to tell when we’re pregnant since I don’t really drink anyway), and tomorrow I’ll get back on the workout train. One of my coworkers had a good conversation with me about how we both want to work out during lunch. If I’m not the only one, I’ll do it! 30 minutes on a stationary bike here I come!

Also, Latte asked me to pose a question here: How does everyone feel about finding out the sex of the baby before birth? I don’t think it’s a big deal, Latte is against it for admittedly irrational reasons and wants to know how others handle it. 

About DeCaf

Just a code monkey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to We have a positive OPK

  1. twogeekmoms says:

    I’ve never even considered NOT knowing the sex of the baby before birth. But lately my wife and I have been discussing leaving it as a surprise until it’s here. What a wonderful thing to have as a surprise! I’d love to have a baby shower where no one will know the sex so things can be gender neutral which is important to us. I guess I could get deeper, but I’ll spare you. I am curious, though, about these irrational reasons. Hmmm.

    • We talked about finding out and not telling people we did for the baby shower reason. Problem is I’m the world’s worst secret keeper so we knew it wouldn’t work!

      • DeCaf says:

        There’s always the option of having the tech write down the sex, putting it in an envelope and opening it after the shower. I don’t know when the shower will be scheduled compared to the anatomy scan when you can find out.

        • It’d be after but I’d still tell people and shower or not it’d be an invitation for my mother in law to send a bunch of insanely gendered stuff. We’re good waiting but i totally get why others are not.

    • DeCaf says:

      I kind of feel the same way. It’s good to known but that baby showers shouldn’t be pink/blue affairs.

      The irrational reasons are basically that it’s bad luck. We talked through about stereotyping and how basically no matter the kid will have people assume things about him/her based on her sex, it’s just a matter of if it’s before or after birth, and frankly I don’t see the birth sex as even a sure bet as to what gender the kid will grow up to be (one of our roommates is trans), I just see it as a fun fact to know. She sees it more as something we should traditionally wait until birth to find out. She’s also in the “don’t tell people until 12 weeks camp” I’m more in the “don’t tell people until NT scan comes back clean camp.” Anyway we had a good talk about it but it’s not really an issue you can compromise on. I did offer to find out and just not tell her (I am good at keeping secrets), but that wasn’t acceptable. When it comes down to it, I don’t have to know, and if she has to not know, I’m going to probably just roll my eyes and roll with it. Part of a happy marriage is putting up with each other’s insanity a bit. 🙂

      • twogeekmoms says:

        I completely agree with your last sentence. I had never even thought about the gender specific stuff before. I always thought I’d have separate nurseries, the baby’s clothes would be boy/girl, my shower would be pink or blue, etc. It’s incredibly important to Jes that it’s gender neutral and since I don’t care that much, we are going with what she wants. I think at this point, I just want a baby. Once we have a healthy baby here with us, we can worry about all of that stuff. And I won’t care.

        I think I’m rambling.

        • DeCaf says:

          It’s good, it’s about how I feel. I mean I won’t lie, I would dress a girl in an occasional dress but wouldn’t do that for a boy, but I’m definitely not someone who’d be calling her daughter “princess” or son “bud” from day 1 or anything like that.

  2. X says:

    Yay!

    For what it’s worth, the cycle before I conceived seemed like a “perfect” cycle to me … and the one where I did was a lot more rocky. So there’s no way to know even though it is frustrating for sure!

    We found out the sex the first time, mostly because C wanted to and I didn’t have a strong feeling either way. For our next, I’m strongly considering not knowing because that seems fun to me but I certainly agree with the thought that it’s a surprise no matter when you find out. On the other hand, it would be nice to figure out if we can use the tons of clothing residing in our basement – some of it is very gender neutral and I’m not opposed to a boy in pink, but see how much people respond to clothing, I don’t know how far I’d go with some of the frillier things.

    • DeCaf says:

      I’m hoping that next cycle will be the magic 1, but understand that the odds are good that it will take a few tries. 🙂

      We don’t have baby clothes, but will likely be gifted with hand-me-downs when the time comes. That is a good reason to find out.

  3. We both wanted to know. We aren’t big on surprises.

  4. My wife would like to wait but is slowly warming to the idea of finding out. For me it’s anxiety that makes me want to know. I’m a semi control freak and want to be able to plan out every last detail. I want to fully enjoy picking out both gender neutral items and gender specific items. When my wife gets pregnant we will most likely wait.

  5. We’re waiting to find out the sex. There are benefits to knowing, sure, but I figure it adds one more thing to look forward to on birth day. At 14 weeks that seems like a long ways away. Luckily, we are only having 2 ultrasounds (one already done) through the pregnancy so it’ll be easier to not find out. I think if we were seeing baby more it’d be harder.

  6. Molly says:

    I am adamant that if/when the time comes, I do not want to find out in advance. I feel like there are few great surprises in life and this is a big one. I’d like to enjoy it. Catch, on the other hand, can’t wrap her head around not knowing. We’ll see who wins in the end!

  7. theartist says:

    Neither of us wanted to find out the sex of the baby. I think it would be a fun surprise and we both want to minimize the gender stereotypes placed on our kiddo and avoid the pink/blue cute/tough dichotomies. Even if we found out we wouldn’t tell anyone else. Everyone thinks we are crazy and just can’t understand how we can prepare for a baby without knowing the sex. Silly kids

  8. I don’t want to know because I don’t want anyone else to know and I am terrible at keeping secrets. 🙂 I just know if we told people we’d get inundated with heavily gendered items, when I would prefer to keep it as non gender specific as possible. The idea of having it written down for after the shower is tempting, though. I think at that point it will be up to my wife and how much she wants to know.

  9. Lemon Drop says:

    Wife wanted to know and I wanted to find out at birth. We compromised by finding out and not telling anyone. I loved having it be our little secret and also the gender neutral gift-giving it led to (though we got plenty of gendered items post-birth). Wife felt strongly that knowing the sex made her feel more connected to the baby/made the baby feel more real/human to her.

Leave a Reply

