Probably Not

Yesterday my temperature plummeted to just above the coverline. My constipation cleared. I felt a lot better. And I suspected today’s test would be negative. We’re not going to retest until Saturday, and then just use the cheapies. Neither of us were super attached to this cycle working (although Latte was much more hopeful than me). The timing had it’s pros and cons and maybe that’s why I’m not super disappointed.

And as to why, I’m split between 1.) We inseminated the day before ovulation (which isn’t that non-ideal is it?) or 2.) The donor hasn’t successfully knocked anyone up yet. Just the roll of the dice. Apparently between when we ordered the sperm and now, the pregnancy status changed on him. Maybe we’ll keep him?

Anyway, we’ll retest this weekend. My boobs are crazy sore, but that’s true every month. I have a heightened sense of smell, so everything smells gross, but that happens to me normally sometimes too. So, it is what it is. 

So yeah, anybody else test early?

About DeCaf

Just a code monkey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Probably Not

  1. mancTTC says:

    I always test early, I’m a sucker! My friend used to be really bad and literally test nearly every dpo! And then rip open the tests looking for a hint of a line lol

  2. I wouldn’t test too early. How many days are you at? We tested at 15dpo and got a bfn but retested at 18dpo and got our positive! Until your period arrives (or not!) I wouldn’t count yourself out. It isn’t really an exact science anyway, right?
    Fingers crossed! X

    • DeCaf says:

      10DPO. The test said it should be over ninety percent accurate by this point. I will retest in a few days. I’m not counting myself completely out. Just it probably isn’t going to be the month.

  3. jennandm says:

    I don’t think the day before ovulation is terrible but ideally you would insem about 60 minutes before. The egg lasts 8-12 hours with the first 8 being the best and frozen sperm lasts 6-12 hours even though dr.s tell you otherwise.
    We also did iui which had less swim time too.

    Also sperm can meet egg in tubes after 12 hours then travel down tubes for 2-3 days. Then take 5-9 days to attach to wall before your body can even start to produce pregnancy hormone. My hcg pee test at 14 dpo was not so dark but my hcg blood test was high. So those tests are sneaky fuckers.

  4. 10DPO might still have been too early, but thankfully if that test is wrong you’ll probably know within the week. If it’s right, which is – unfortunately – more likely, you’ll also know pretty soon. Too bad we can’t just hope forward a few days or ask our future selves. Would save a lot of worry.
    I’ll be testing tomorrow at 14DPO, although I’ve been tempted multiple times to test since 10. But we only have the one test on hand and that’s been keeping my impulses at bay. Plus I’m more than 99% positive it’ll be negative, due to all the weird that was this cycle.
    Alas, maybe this just means next time we can be baby buddies. 🙂

  5. theartist says:

    I always tested early and then every day until AF showed, it helped ease my stress and anxiety about the TWW for some reason. We got the first really faint line at 11 DPO. I’m hoping it was still too early for you.

    • DeCaf says:

      Thanks. I don’t think I will want to test tomorrow. Getting this one test done has really helped me relax. Although I did find a combination of filters that make it a picture of it look like there may be something that isn’t a proper line at all. In person it is very obviously negative though. 🙂

  6. julieann081 says:

    Hoping you get some good news soon!

  7. kirrax says:

    Hopefully it’s still too early. Good luck and hope the rest of the week goes super fast!

  8. I test around 10-12dpo every month and I understand your feelings. At the same time you never know until you do so remember that. Also, insemination with frozen sperm before ovulation is not the best cause it doesn’t last as long especially when you do it ICI cause of travel time.

  9. Becca says:

    10 dpo is pretty early. I tested at 13 dpo when I got my BFP and it was pretty faint, I doubt anything would have shown at 10. You can have good timing and still have an unsuccessful cycle. TTC is just crazy, I know you are a scientist but don’t analyze too much or you will burn out fast.
    Hang in there, just a few more days left of the wait.

    • DeCaf says:

      Thanks. TTC is crazy. I’ve given up trying to figure out this cycle. I’ll just test again tomorrow and then when my period doesn’t come if it’s late.

Leave a Reply

