Question for all the super knowledgeable career women out there

So I got the offer I was hoping for. The only thing is that it’s about 5k less than what I was hoping for. Last time I negotiated I had two offers and only asked for 3k more. I’m not sure how to ask for more in my current situation. Any advice?

About DeCaf

Just a code monkey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Question for all the super knowledgeable career women out there

  1. julieann081 says:

    I don’t know what your situation is, but it couldn’t hurt to ask, right?

  2. Curious B says:

    You can let them know that you appreciate the offer but that you believe that level of work should be compensated at $xyz salary. Be sure to acknowledge the rest of their benefits package so they know you’re genuinely interested but would like to negotiate salary.

  3. Lemon Drop says:

    Is another $5k (or more) commensurate with what others in that position make? I don’t know what you are referring to with your “situation” but from where I sit, your situation is that you are qualified for the position and they want to give it to you. So you either cite market value or the value/skills that you have above and beyond the basic job description (or both!) and ask for what you want (or slightly higher so you can negotiate down to what you want). And if they say the salary isn’t flexible, what about benefits or vacation time? Tell them you want to work with them to make this the best fit it can be for both sides. You’re very excited about the offer, and would like to discuss the details. Good luck! And congratulations.

    • DeCaf says:

      I’m a software developer in a non tech hub city. I have no idea what others in my position make. I just know the number I have as my goal salary is a little lower than my average salary for the past three years.

  4. Molly says:

    Here’s what I would do. I would politely make it clear that the salary is $5k less than you’re comfortable with. Ask them to meet you halfway up front, and then see if they will consider the other half after a 90-day evaluation. 5k shouldn’t break their bank, and that way you’re being very reasonable and showing that you’re willing to work with them.

    • DeCaf says:

      Thanks. I found a snippet on a website I modified that really emphasized how excited I am about the job but also how I was hoping for more, and if they could consider giving me more.

  5. theartist says:

    Yeah, what Molly said 🙂

Leave a Reply

