Oh, I see.

So when I ended my last job, I was told I’d get severance pay, and insurance paid through the end of the month. After a month I found that both seemed to be lies. (They have a weird pay schedule, so you get paid basically two weeks after the end of your pay period.) If my current job didn’t have a much better one, the mortgage payment would’ve been late.

So I called up HR and complained, and they fixed it without apology or explanation. I really hate how I had to call up people I didn’t want to talk to, to ask for something I was promised. Oh the plus side, the check should arrive tomorrow.

That plus the tax refund, I’m thinking we should buy some spermsicles for when we start trying again (October I think, spending time with my cousins’ kids really made me wonder why I don’t have my own yet).

About DeCaf

Just a code monkey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Oh, I see.

  1. I would buy sperm to if I was you. Then it’s set and ready to go!

    • DeCaf says:

      Yeah. Not sure how much to buy, previously we had just been doing one vial a month. Maybe four vials and plan on doing two a month for Oct/Nov and then resupply after that?

  2. PS glad your not giving up yet.

  3. Lindsay says:

    That is horrible. I wonder if they would’ve not paid you at all if you hadn’t called?

    I say stock up on the sperm.

  4. mamaetmaman says:

    That’s unfortunately what the school boards do to teachers here. Except that they have a narrow deadline within which you must complain each year. They “forgot” to give my wife her masters bonus for 7 years and when she finally realized, they would only pay her the one for the current year. I know your situation is a bit different, and I’m glad you spoke up (even though you shouldn’t have to). Yay for spermsicles!!

  5. Molly says:

    Those jerks! That’s awful! I’m glad you were able to resolve things with them, though. I’m so excited that you’re not throwing in the towel! October is right around the corner! Totally invest in those spermsicles!

  6. ashley72788 says:

    I totally bought spermies with a severance check I received lol!

  7. Rachael says:

    Oh, yea! Buy up the sperm. Those jerks! I will totally buy up the sperm, if you can afford to do it, get it in and I’m excited you are not done yet!

  8. Jenn says:

    Do it! I would get 2 vials a month if you can manage it. I hope your check really does come. It would SUCK if I had to call a previous employer. It kind of sounds like they were hoping you wouldn’t call and could get away with not paying you. Dicks.

    • DeCaf says:

      It did come. They are total dicks. I didn’t demand the severance pay, they volunteered it. And that happened right in the middle of a two week wait, so I was pretty sure that it completely screwed my chances of getting knocked up that month (not that I wanted to start the new job with morning sickness, but ya know). All and all, I basically hate them. Or him, it was really one guy’s unilateral decision.

Leave a Reply

