So a facebook friend just announced her baby…

is it bad that I was cooing and jealous until I learned the kid’s name and now I’m completely over the kid and the feelings…

So do any of you have baby names that make you just hate, hate, hate, hate?

About DeCaf

Just a code monkey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to So a facebook friend just announced her baby…

  1. Molly says:

    Oh god yes. Lynn(e) makes me see red. Pretentious spellings of otherwise top 50 baby names also drive me insane.

  2. Lemon Drop says:

    Yes. Some names I hate on their own merits, others are just ill-advised in combination with the surname and/or middle name. But now that you mention it, I do coo more sincerely over babies whose names I like. Yikes. Never quite realized that before. Hm.

  3. Lindsay says:

    I hate made up names that parents seem to be doing more and more of these days. Or misspellings of common names – puh-LEEZE!

    So are you gonna tell us the name that caused your stomach to turn? 😉

  4. ashley72788 says:

    We chose Harper & Elliott, thoughts? Haha be honest 😀

  5. AndiePants says:

    My cousin named their kid Chuck (not Charles, just chuck) and after almost 5 years I still hate it.

  6. LOL!!! I know exactly what you mean. Like i saw this thing the other day on FB…this British couple, surname Mann, named their son Super…as in Super Mann…i just can’t!!!

  7. Rachael says:

    Aiden was actually a pick in the running for when Punky was in womb if she was to be a boy. Kim’s got this terrible distaste for “Sebastian” which I absolutely love and I don’t care for plain girl names like Jessica or Ashley. I like the fancy names like Addison and Phoebe. 😉 I didn’t name Punky, so I had no say – but her name is beautiful, so I was glad we have similar tastes in actual names for our kid!

  8. h3ath3rd says:

    I finally met a person with one of the crazy/weird baby names I like (Charisma – as in Charisma Carpenter of Buffy and Angel fame)…it was vetoed and now I don’t feel so bitter about it.

  9. mamaetmaman says:

    My rivals at piano recitals during my childhood was a pair of identical twins named Diamond and Majestic. They were just so damn good.

    Funny though, somehow trendy celebrity names annoy me more.

  10. I feel this way about 90% of names. Picking some were HARD because I hate so many. 🙂

  11. I just get mad when people pick names I like or want lol that name is Mine it has meaning for Me you have no right!

  12. theartist says:

    I’m really picky about names. My sister named her daugther after a popular book/tv show. I can’t stand it. I think our state is known for the worst made up names. It’s terrible. I saw a woman at the ped’s office last week with her baby and she had a tattoo on her shoulder blade with her new baby’s name and birthdate Peightyn, why????

    • DeCaf says:

      She really love spelling a name, that’s the only conclusion I can reach about that one. The kid’s going to hate it when s/he becomes an adult and has to spell it out for the billionth time. I always get to say “Rebecca, spelled conventionally with two Cs”

  13. My bff has been subbing this past year while on the job hunt and my favorite name that she’s told me about is a kid named Awesome. Seriously. That is the kid’s legal name.

  14. Pops says:

    I really like the name Jameson for a boy and nick name him Jamie. boo or coo? My bff named her some Kamden. I kinda love that name a lot. I love Harper too for a girl.

    • DeCaf says:

      Jameson’s an okay name. The names I go ga-ga over are kind of older. I’m not going to say too much, but my wife and I have the best name ever picked out if we have a daughter. It’s not a trendy name, but it’s got old school charm I think.

      • Pops says:

        My brother just named my niece Scarlett. Reminds me of an old school name. I’m sure you have a beautiful name picked out. Baby names are so fun.

Leave a Reply

