This weekend

IMG_20140723_175853395[1]This is what I did this weekend:

 

 

BoyCat helped me put together a wardrobe for Latte (she has a lot of clothes and likes to hang them, and our closet is tiny — it’s an old house thing). It surprised me how long it took to put together. I think all and all I probably spent 6 hrs on it. I’m just happy I didn’t break any of it or ruin anything. It does have a couple scratches if you look super close, but whatever. 

Also, Latte practiced driving like a champ, in the IKEA parking lot before they opened. We saw a b.ing camera car driving around. It was weird.

About DeCaf

Just a code monkey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to This weekend

  1. Jenn says:

    That menu board is awesome.

    Good job on the furniture making! I have never met a piece of furniture I put together correctly. I mean, I do. But I always have leftover pieces that don’t seem to go anywhere? I feel like that’s not normal.

    • DeCaf says:

      It was at the local Trader Joe’s. 🙂

      Some extra pieces are normal I think. I ended up with extra hardware, since I was too lazy to use 100 nails on on the backing and I wasn’t able to anchor it to the wall.

  2. Molly says:

    Ikea is the devil. I love it with all my heart, but it is the devil. I once spent 9 hours assembling a bed with drawers. I thought someone was going to die. Bravo for not killing anyone or anything!

    • DeCaf says:

      That’s going to be my next furniture purchase. Right now our bed is on the floor. The box spring’s frame cracked, and having it on a bed frame was causing it to be extra-interesting to get in and out of bed, so yeah. I want to get one that has drawers, it looks sooo practical, but Latte likes the metal ones.

      • Molly says:

        We live in an old house with no closet space, too. The drawers under the bed were a godsend. We just upgraded to a king bed, so I’m waiting until we can afford another storage bed frame. I miss my drawers!

        • DeCaf says:

          We’re thinking about going to a king, I’m not a huge fan of the idea, it seems crazy big (we’re not very big people, it seems like it’d be too big, my wife just wants the dog to be able to sleep with us). This is part of why we don’t have a bed frame yet.

          • Molly says:

            I have to admit–it’s definitely big! Lol. We did it for the dogs, too. I was tired of paws kicking me in the ribs.

          • King sized beds ROCK! My wife and I aren’t big people either, but we love our king sized bed! I say go for it! Especially if you are going to have your fur babies sleep with you 🙂

            • Pops says:

              we’ve discussed going the king route as well. At a hotel we recently stayed at we had a king and I felt like I missed Oli all night.. like we didn’t cross paths even once during our sleep. We don’t have fur babies. I love the idea of it tho.

  3. That’s a pretty sturdy looking piece of furniture for Ikea, good pick. Assembling Ikea furniture always feels like a major accomplishment doesn’t it? Special props for doing it solo!

  4. Pops says:

    I LOVE Ikea furniture and their Swedish meatballs!

Leave a Reply

