Yikes

So apparently family insurance at my new job would cost over $1000/month. Yikes! (Myself and my wife are ‘only’  over $600/month) COBRA at my old job is more affordable. 

About DeCaf

Just a code monkey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Yikes

  1. Lindsay says:

    Holy #$!&!!! That is absolutely insane. How can any middle class family afford that? Unreal.

  2. h3ath3rd says:

    Sounds cheaper to go to medical school!

  3. Becca says:

    Mine is close to that too. It’s expensive having a family. We joked that the monthly cost of sperm helped us prepare for affording the cost.

  4. mamaetmaman says:

    Is that supposed to be paid for 100% by you? Or does your employer pay some of it?

  5. wtfovaries says:

    Holy lord. How do they expect anyone to be able to afford to live & pay that?!?

  6. Yikes is right!!!! Holy crap, that’s a lot of money!!! How the hell do they expect you to afford insurance AND live?!?! That’s insane!

  7. Pops says:

    That’s crazy. And ridiculous. My current job has great insurance for just myself but any family insurance would also be crazy expensive.

  8. julieann081 says:

    😦

  9. That’s insane. Would it be cheaper to go to one of the exchanges? I have no idea, but that’s just. I just. Wow.

    • DeCaf says:

      I think that’s what we’re going to do. Insurance for the two of us is okay, since pregnancy/birth is expensive. After the kid is born, we’ll probably just get the local university’s insurance, the deductible isn’t crazy.

  10. Molly says:

    Yikes. That is just crazy.

  11. Caitlin says:

    Eep! Check the state exchange. You can probably find 3 individual plans for less than that!

  12. butchjax says:

    That’s disgraceful. You can’t say you offer benefits and charge that. I pay maybe $300 a month for the family and we even have a reasonable max out of pocket so no one gets buried in medical bills. I’m sorry you’re getting screwed.

  13. Yikes! I’m glad to be on my mom’s for another year and a half! After that I have no idea. Since I lost my job no insurance. Cobra was $400 a month and on no job for me income obviously not affordable!

Leave a Reply

