Today

Quiche

Quiche

So, this morning I:

– Made that quiche (with freshly cooked bacon, and used the drippings for the fat in the crust).

– Cleaned out the fridge

– Did a sink’s worth of dishes from cleaning out the fridge

– Cut up/grated all of the CSA veggies that needed that done, and put it in freezer bags

– Scrubbed the bathroom floor with the cat-pee scent remover spray, since BoyCat was shut in the bathroom for a couple hours accidentally yesterday

– Did the laundry, including my running shoes that I think the cat peed on

 – Walked to the Auto.straddle meet up brunch. We walked over three miles to get there (overshot where we were supposed to change trails by a half mile).

We spent a bit over an hour there, then walked home. My feet are tired and I got a blister (which popped during the walk), the puppy refused to walk further occasionally on the way home and is currently napping in front of the AC.  I’m guessing she’ll be chill for the rest of the day

 It’s been a good day. I’m going to miss the calmness and just it being my wife and myself when the kid comes, if it happens. 

About DeCaf

Just a code monkey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Today

  1. shawnsorcade says:

    I would die for that quiche. Jealous!

    • DeCaf says:

      Thanks! It’s the third or fourth I’ve made this summer. Having a CSA subscription that gives you a dozen eggs a week makes it necessary to do stuff like weekly quiches.

      • shawnsorcade says:

        Sounds awesome! What’s CSA?

        • DeCaf says:

          Community Sponsored Agriculture. It’s basically where you pay a couple hundred dollars and get a lot of produce every week for several months. It’s supposed to give farmers better pay and the customer better quality by cutting out the middle man.

  2. Molly says:

    Bacon and pie crust. Mmmmmmm

  3. mamaetmaman says:

    Omg. Bacon and bacon-grease pie crust! That sounds amazing!

  4. h3ath3rd says:

    Ive always wondered about the AutoStraddle meet ups. Your quiche looks like it and out well!

    • DeCaf says:

      It was alright. Just a younger crowd than what we were hoping for. Most were college/just out of college-aged. I think we may have been the only married folks, and certainly the only ones talking about wanting to have a kid soon.

  5. Courtney says:

    I want that quiche!

  6. Becca says:

    Can I rent you? lol

  7. I keep trying to remember that Now is good in its own way, too. These little moments – cleaning, quicheing, etc – are going to be so few (hopefully).
    Also CSA! I love the CSA. Ours kind of sucks ’cause we’re in the desert, but the CSA in the Pacific NW was the bomb. Just blew grocery store everything out of the water and spoiled us forever.

    • DeCaf says:

      I liked the CSA better in theory than in practice. The first month was mostly salad greens. Only a couple months into it did we start getting things like summer squash and potatoes that we like to eat.

  8. WHEN it happens love! I’m ready for you to get back on the TTC wagon with us crazies! XO

Leave a Reply

