My GirlyGirl Cat

This has been a stressful short week at our home. First I caught a nasty cold bug. I seem to have given it both to my wife, who was a champ and slept for 12 hrs and pretty much got over it in a day, and one of our roommates who ended up with a significant fever and missed work for a day.

But who had it worse than us was GirlCat. On Monday evening, I heard her puking, and went to investigate and found more puke than I’ve ever seen come out of a tiny cat body. We didn’t think much of it (she gets hair balls and waking up and finding a little puke isn’t that unusual) until we noticed her lack of interest in food on Wednesday, combined with more puking. A $300+ dollar trip to the vet revealed, that she is nauseated, her labs don’t have any answers (so not pancreatitis, kidney or liver issues), she had lost a couple pounds and is now underweight, and that she was very dehydrated. We were given prescription cat food, subcutaneous fluid that gave her a temporary hunchback, an injection of 24 hr anti-nausea medication, and sent on our way. Thursday was good. She ate her food, then I noticed her straining on her litter box (we were keeping them separated), and her having pretty significant diarrhea. So, a call to the vet yielded a deworming pill and antibiotics.

Last night she puked a couple more times. She hardly ate anything after yesterday morning. This morning, when she showed interest in the pantry, after not eating even half of the food we had put her with for the night, I caved and gave her some of the puppy food. She ate it right up. I know it’s not a long term solution as it lacks taurine, which is an essential nutrient for cats that they go blind without, but I was very happy she was eating something enthusiastically. Food time has always been her favorite time of the day. And she lies to us and to our roommates to try to get more food normally.

Latte thinks she’s on the mend, but I still worry about her getting enough calories, since she lost so much weight and is losing so much fluid to vomiting and loose stool.

Right now she’s sitting contently on my lap, and I left a voicemail with the vet. I hope this is all just a funk that clears up. I hate to see her miserable and want her to live a long happy life.

About DeCaf

Just a code monkey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to My GirlyGirl Cat

  1. Short term or vet had us give our cats psyllium powder mixed in with canned food to stop diarrhea. Often one treatment or two works. Hope kitty feels better soon!

    • DeCaf says:

      I’ll ask my vet about that when she calls back! Thanks! The antibiotic has listed as side effects: nausea, vomiting, decreased appetite, diarrhea. Ugh! I know it’s bad to stop antibiotics part way through (super bugs come about this way) but I may ask if we can, since it doesn’t seem to be helping and may be hurting.

  2. mummyno2 says:

    Get well soon little cat! Such a worry when they are poorly and can’t tell you what is wrong.

  3. butchcountry67 says:

    our manx “Teddy Bear” will raid the dog food now and then, it doesn’t really hurt them any, he has been doing it for years, it does however make them gain weight. I hope the your wee cat feels better soon.

  4. Molly says:

    I hate it when our fur babies are sick. I wish they could tell us what’s wrong. Twix & Rolo have both been sick over the past few weeks, and it’s been so rough on them (and us). I hope your kitty feels better.

    • DeCaf says:

      She’s not holding food down currently. Our normal vet is open today, but are taking their sweet time getting back to us. We may end up having to go to the emergency vet (I just weighted her on the Wii Fit and she’s down another 0.4 lbs, assuming it’s accurate).

  5. Canned pumpkin mixed with her soft food will help. Only about a teaspoon per serving though. It helps with the diarrhea. My lil one was just like this for the first few weeks we had her at only 13 weeks old. She was so dehydrated that she would often dry heave while pooping at the same time. It was sad and she couldn’t gain weight. That lasted for a year off and on until we tried a prescription diet food. Hope you baby is just a little sick and almost done with it.

  6. julieann081 says:

    Oh no! I’m so sorry to hear about your cat! I hope she gets all better soon! ❤ I'm also sorry to hear about the colds. I'm sending lots of healing energy your way!

  7. jennandm says:

    Poor baby kitty 😦

  8. We had a rough couple of days with our little dog. I think he’s on the mend too but it’s hard to tell.

Leave a Reply

