Things will be different.

This time:

1.) I will not need to race around during my lunch break to get sperm. They will be delivered before the week I ovulate. I do not need to worry about this. It will work out fine.

2.) I will not pinpoint my ovulation by temping, and obsess over how good/bad the timing was. I will rely on OPKs that the doctor is going to inseminate according to.

3.) I will try doing the circle+bloom demo session thing every night, and make more of an effort to control my anxiety. Being off of medication has been hard. I get muscle cramps from stress, I’ve been able to keep my it under control to avoid that lately. I’d like to have it under better control. Any recommendations?

4.) I will remind myself I am doing everything right regarding what I’m doing (no meds). I’m doing what’s best to get me pregnant as quickly as possible without IVF/hyperovulation. I really need to remind myself of that often. I’m a bit of a perfectionist and I fixate on things to find the best way (which makes me great at my job but kind of a pain in the ass about trivial things).

Also, I’ve been poking at pubmed. I think everyone here can be happy they don’t have this lady’s doctor.

About DeCaf

Just a code monkey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Things will be different.

  1. I’m rooting for you- I think the cycle you let some of those things go it works better. Bananas for the muscle cramps, rescue remedy for the anxiety. You got this.

  2. Fingers crossed for you! Yoga has been really helpful for my anxiety.

  3. mamaetmaman says:

    I struggle with some of the same tendencies- anxiety, perfectionism, fixations, and Pubmed! It makes it difficult to keep it cool while TTCing, doesn’t it? But don’t be so hard on yourself (easier said than done, I know). I’m glad that some of the stressors have been eliminated this time.

  4. Becca says:

    Exercise and routine seem to help my spouse’s anxiety. I’m a big proponent of containment visualization. Picture a container you can place your anxious or obsessive thoughts in and leave them there. Make it as secure as you need based on how pervasive they are. Cute story, I saw a little boy in therapy who put his thoughts in a black hole guarded by Superman– the thoughts stopped bothering him after that. It’s not as easy for adults though lol and takes more commitment. I also like the thought stopping technique where you clap your hands and say “STOP,” I found it so silly, but when I taught it to the spouse and a couple of my adult clients that is the thing they use the most (over like deep breathing). Hope you find whatever works best for you because those twws are crazy.

    • DeCaf says:

      Exercise has definitely been helping me, which makes my cold harder to deal with (since I don’t feel like running as much when my head is congested. I get a lot out of running, since the only thoughts in my head are “how can I keep going and how long can I keep going for” which tend not to be as obsessive, as it isn’t a huge deal to me if I have a bad run.
      I’ll have to try the visualization and the stop thing.

      • Becca says:

        We’ve kind of made the “stop” thing into a joke. If she is obsessing over something either she or I will clap and yell “stop,” and have a good laugh over it- which lightens up the moment. Although honestly it was harder for her to actually “stop” obsessing without the medication.

  5. Callie and I would go near the water and just close our eyes and listen to the waves crashing, and then we would laugh at how ridiculous we must have looked sitting there, holding hands on a bench, heads back, eyes closed just listening. We would make some inappropriate jokes about being lesbians and something about wetness, and would crack up. We realized that laughing A LOT made the TWW a lot more bearable. Good on you for trying to keep it stress free and HOLY SHIT 15 viable fetuses?!?!?!?! Oh helllllllllll no!

    • DeCaf says:

      Yeah, whoever prescribed the super-ovulation and insemination without any ultrasound to see how many eggs were being released is a horrible doctor. Especially since the odds it was “only” 15 eggs produced and that they all created viable fetuses is nil. That poor woman.

  6. julieann081 says:

    Um, I saw the title of that and could not keep reading! I cannot believe that!

    I truly hope that things will be different for you this time. ❤ As for stress, I could probably tell you 1 million ways to deal with it, but in my experience, each person is different. I was going to suggest exercise, but I saw your comment about it above. Other things I've tried (the short list): meditation and relaxation, writing, listening to music, taking a drive (and/or singing at the top of my lungs), breathing exercised, repeating a mantra in my head (Example: I feel cool, calm, and collected. I am in control.), petting the cats, arts and crafts, talking to someone, reframing my thoughts, dissecting my thoughts and being more realistic, distracting myself via a book, movie, or tv show, reminding myself that if there isn't something I can do to change a worry right away, then I should just let it go, etc. Wishing you all the very best! ❤

Leave a Reply

