Sanity Check Request

I’m 5 dpiui. I just puked. My wife is grinning like crazy because “you’re not a puker” it’s the first time I’ve had a non-migraine puke in literally years (I think three years ago I had a you-drank-to-much puke after a bad new years eve where I felt so awkward I drank more than I have ever drank before or since). But when we got back from the coffee shop I said a hurried goodbye to a neighbor, and ran to the bathroom and threw up.

I also have a lot of post-nasal-drip, which is my tentative theory. It’s not possible to have pregnancy symptoms this early right? Not until 6dpo right?

About DeCaf

Just a code monkey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Sanity Check Request

  1. Jenn says:

    Does having an IUI make a difference with how early you experience symptoms? I don’t actually know the answer. Do I think it’s possible? Yes. Do I think you and your wife are going to have a rough go of symptom spotting for another week? YES. I HOPE it’s the good kind of puking!

    FALSE HOPE ALERT: Both times I was pregnant, I knew because I got the “cold” symptoms, but didn’t have a cold. Nasal drip, coughing, sneezing, etc.

    • DeCaf says:

      IUI’s big thing is that it gets the sperm past the cervix, which normally filters out a lot of them. It shouldn’t cause implantation or anything to happen sooner.
      I’ve kind of had bad allergies for a month, so it’s not new at all. Just the puking is.
      I am normally not a symptom spotter (I normally get sore boobs and a heightened sense of smell and many other “early signs”), my wife, on the other hand, was smiling like a maniac when I got done puking.

  2. AndiePants says:

    Anything is possible Of course, and whether you see this as an opportunity to be excited and hopeful or feel silly is up to you. I will tell you that puking and nausea for me didn’t start until 5 or 6 weeks, but feeling run down/ like I wad getting sick was my first sign. I will be keeping my fingers crossed that your puke is a sign of impending baby!

    • DeCaf says:

      That what I’ve heard about morning sickness, that it normally doesn’t start until after you have a positive hpt (aka after 4 weeks).

    • Becca says:

      Ditto what Andie said. I don’t remember having any symptoms, but my spouse reminds me that I kept saying I thought I was getting sick. I didn’t think anything of it because she had actually been really sick during my tww and I just assumed I was fighting it off. Who knows though. Good luck getting through the next week plus.

  3. Lindsay says:

    I think right now would be implantation time, and it would be extremely rare for any hcg to be in your system enough to make you sick/throw up. I’m not sure this is pregnancy related, but stranger things have happened!

    • DeCaf says:

      I’m going to go with it was because of allergies I think. If it happens again (and again) there might be something to it, but for now I’m going to count it as a one-off odd thing.

  4. The LadyKing says:

    The earliest The Queen ever had symptoms, we were able to get a positive pregnancy test. Usually, the rule of thumb is: enough HCG to cause symptoms, enough to trigger a positive pregnancy test. With that said, it’s not the same for everyone, and all symptoms can be different. The Queen has short (12 day) luteal phases, so we knew we had until 12DPO to see a period. She usually implanted somewhere around 8-10DPIUI and a few days later, we would get a positive test. A few days after the positive test, she’d get an influx of symptoms.

  5. butchjax says:

    Nausea can start that early though. It can be a combination of allergies and hormones, with or without pregnancy. Either way, I hope you feel better. Vomiting sucks!

  6. mamaetmaman says:

    I was really dizzy during my first week, which made me a bit pukey too. So maybe it’s a good sign!

  7. Hope that’s all a good sign! I know hormones are weird like that, so fingers crossed for you guys!

Leave a Reply

