Grateful Day 4

Vaccine

I just got back from getting my influenza vaccine. I’m grateful for vaccines.

Fun facts (taken from NIH):

  • Pregnant women are more likely than other nonpregnant women their age to become very ill if they get the flu.
  • Pregnant women who get the flu shot get sick less often. They are also very unlikely to get a bad case of the flu that can harm them or their baby.
  • Getting a mild case of the flu is often not harmful to mother or child. However, the flu shot can prevent the rare severe cases of the flu that can harm mother and baby.
  • Women who develop high fevers or pneumonia are at higher risk for early labor or delivery and other harm.
  • In past flu outbreaks, pregnant women who were otherwise healthy were more likely than those who were not pregnant to become very sick or even die.

Also, if you want to scare yourself – look up “prenatal influenza exposure” in pubmed. Eek! Schizophrenia, bipolar disorder, (fever-related) autism? No thanks!

About DeCaf

Just a code monkey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Grateful Day 4

  1. I was never a flu shot person prior to pregnancy & motherhood, but now for sure. I got a bad cold while prego and it was hell. I don’t want to imagine what the flu would have been like. Now, with my daughter in day care, it’s like we’re sick once every month or two anyway. Might as well take the flu potentially off that list of likelies.

    • DeCaf says:

      True, it’s crazy how day cares are little germ factories. I’ve heard day care kids get sick less once they start school compared to kids who didn’t do day care.

      • I believe it! Even after the first 6 months in day care she gets sick much less often. By the time school starts she will have had every illness at least once, so an iron clad immune system!

  2. AndiePants says:

    Got my flu shot yesterday, despite being pretty shoddy with it over my life. These stats are why!

  3. The flu/schizophrenia link always freaks me out

    • DeCaf says:

      My mother-in-law has that, and bipolar disorder (no word if her mom had the flu or not). The more research I read the more it looks like the flu is linked with psychosis. It doesn’t cause it in everyone who is exposed prenatally, it just rises the risk a couple fold. Still, if I can take a shot to lower my potential-future-kid’s risk of those diseases, I’m going to enthusiastically do that.

  4. I get my flu shot every year and thankfully I never get sick. (Excusing sinus infections/common cold/etc) my RE recommended “preservative free” this year. Whatever that means. Lol but…. I got it! 🙂

  5. Becca says:

    I seriously need to get mine, but keep forgetting. This week I vow to!

  6. CAllie is getting her flu shot on Thursday, her TDap, and her steroid for the boys lungs in case they come early…trust me when I tell you it took a lot of convincing for ththat Flu shot (conspiracy theorist – lol!) Thanks for the info!

  7. Everyone in our house got them too. With a new baby coming it was necessary.

Leave a Reply

