Still smiling

So I’m on day three four (as of Thursday morning) of the blinking smile. My temps fell this morning, maybe. I woke up at four but went back to bed and just laid there until my alarm went off but took my temp anyway. It was lower than it’s been. That may be a good sign. Who knows. Is like to ovulate this weekend so I don’t have to go into work late and make excuses.

In other news, my work is crazy busy which is good. I’m on three projects right now all with deadlines in the next couple weeks.

I’m mildly concerned about my vitamin D levels now that I’m not outside a lot when it’s sunny out, and when I am outside when the sun is out I’m very well covered (it’s going to go below zero at night here soon). A few years ago I had my vitamin d levels tested and they were very low. So low I was given prescription vitamins to take. I was able to take them without issue. In the last couple years I’ve been unable to supplement without getting migraines. Even multivitamins give me migraines of the contain vitamin d. Part of how I justified eating coca pebbles was because it is high on vitamin d but somehow didn’t trigger headaches. Can you get vitamin d from going to a tanning salon? Is there a way to do that and not increase your risk of cancer?

About DeCaf

Just a code monkey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Still smiling

  1. Do you like dairy? I’m not a sun girl but my vitamin d always comes out pretty good because I LOVE me some dairy. Milk, yogurt, cheese-the works.

  2. Molly says:

    I wish I had some advice about vitamin d. It’s not something I’ve ever had to deal with before. I have a great feeling about this cycle for you!

  3. butchjax says:

    Often the problem with supplements is they aren’t absorbed well due to the body treating them as a foreign substance. Have you tried these drops? http://www.amazon.com/Carlson-Laboratories-Super-4000IU-Supplement/dp/B0090QNC8M/ They’re just extracted from fish, so totally natural and very easily absorbed. Bonus, not even a pill with minimal taste. I’ve found them very helpful.

    And side note, as also lactose intolerant, have you tried just getting the lactose free milk? Granted, milks are also fortified with D, which isn’t the same as it naturally occurring like with the drops. I would give them a try if you haven’t since D is so incredibly critical for your body, even before pregnancy.

    • DeCaf says:

      Soymilk is fortified with D as well, and it’s much cheaper in my area. 🙂

      • butchjax says:

        True. But soy affects hormones. So not something in your best interest to have daily, especially when getting pregnant. There are other non-dairy milks too. Have you tried the hemp or almond milks?

        • DeCaf says:

          Soy has a very weak affect according to most research I’ve seen. I don’t consume much soy outside of one cup of soymilk a day. Almond milk makes me sad or is chocolate flavored and full of sugar, and I’ve never seen hemp milk in my area.

  4. santosha1203 says:

    I don’t know if you can get vitamin d from going to a tanning salon, but you’re not supposed to to there once you may be pregnant. It sounds like the chemicals could seep into your body and are bad for embryos. The vitamins don’t bother me and I’m usually sensitive. Maybe try a milder dose? Good luck.

  5. Have you tried mushrooms? Weirdly, they have some vitamin d, and if you leave them in the sun for a little while, they actually synthesize more. Even store bought mushrooms can do this.

  6. Be careful with soy. It’s an endocrine disruptor. Our pediatrician won’t even recommend soy formula especially for girls because it mimics estrogen and can cause some damage to hormones. Have you tried a food based vitamin? I have much better luck with those over the more chemical ones. If you can get your level checked again without it costing a fortune it might be worth it.

Leave a Reply

