Vitex

I think I need to stop Vitex agnus castus (for those of you who want to know what kind of Vitex). Experienced charters can look at my previous charts and then this one and see that it seems to not have a good effect (I may take it after ovulation though).

nov14

My temperatures are way too high. Also I didn’t make good note of this, but I was testing for my LH surge 2-3 times a day, and am sure I didn’t miss it. But I think Vitex is too effective at keeping my progesterone up.

About DeCaf

Just a code monkey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Vitex

  1. Is this the first cycle you’ve used it? I actually found that using it for a couple of days before I expected to ovulate seemed to work well. I actually attribute ovulating the month I conceived to vitex. I had really, really wonky cycles though (30 days to 70 days and anywhere in between, but very regular luteal phases) so I don’t know how useful my experience is.

  2. I always heard you have to take it for three months to see results. Easier said than done though, I know.

    • DeCaf says:

      Yeah. I don’t think we’re going to be trying in three months. It’s pretty hard on my wife, she doesn’t want us continue to try next year, so if it doesn’t happen in the next couple cycles, it wasn’t meant to be.

      • I’ll hope for the best for you. We took almost an entire year off (2013) and took that time to lose weight and work on our house and I think it really helped for us in finally achieving this pregnancy. You have to do what’s best for you.

  3. lezbemoms says:

    Have you tried taking actual clomid? That was what ended up working for me.

  4. Did you speak with an herbalist before taking it? There are SO many forms of Vitex and only one is meant for fertility and the dose is very specific to your needs. Vitex when taken improperly can be very bad for you and actually effect your fertility just the opposite of good. It’s not to be taken during the TWW cause there is not enough evidence to support its pregnancy safe. Just a heads up. I found all that out when I tried it and although I feel it helped my ovulation pattern and cycles it messed with my temps too and my body in other ways.

    • DeCaf says:

      The kind I’m taken has German research backing it’s use for fertility, through the first trimester actually. I’d rather read primary research for myself, because of my undergraduate education in biology, I’m scientifically literate enough to do so.

Leave a Reply

