Shook out

So everything shook out for the most part. I don’t know why I was in such a pessimistic place before and feeling so hopeless.

We’ve ordered two vials of Ginger Jesus. They should be here Wednesday. I tried to ship them to the lab the NW wanted a phone number and my paperwork didn’t have any I thought would work for it.

I’ve got an HSG scheduled for January 12th 10 am.

I have a question: the lady on the phone told me no “sexual activity” for two weeks prior to it. Is that just for straights? She said something about condoms, but I was in my workplace’s break room (not a very private place) so I didn’t want to ask if doing my wife would be okay (literally every other person in my office is a heterosexual male).

Still pondering if we are to try this cycle or not, I guess I don’t need to decide yet. It’s only CD 6.

Pros:

  • Could get pregnant (Christmas miracle?)

Cons:

  • TWW during Christmas (probably 7dpo that day)
  • May just be a waste of sperm and money, it might be better to save the money for the HSG.
  • Early September baby isn’t ideal, my brother was born then, and he was the oldest in his class.

Here‘s a study I found recently about women who have IUIs, who use donor sperm and who do this not for infertility-related reasons (all SMBC and lesbians).

IUIDI-Age

IUIDI-Treatment

Please note: it’s from 2001 and sperm freezing and thawing technology has improved since then.

About DeCaf

Just a code monkey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Shook out

  1. colormeanew says:

    Its always difficult with the sex stuff. I like it when doctors just don’t get that oh gee she’s a lesbian…ha

  2. avintageidea says:

    I love that your donor is ginger Jesus. My wife’s one requirement was a ginger donor and there were so few. Fingers crossed for your cycle!

  3. Well, if you go for it this cycle, you’re on target to fall exactly along my cycle from last year in which I got pregnant (LMP was December 2nd, 2013). Either way, good luck!

  4. Rachael says:

    I think its awesome that you have a ginger donor. My wife has some unresolved trauma from her childhood when it comes to gingers, so she very much against it. But, I think ginger babies are adorable! Good luck for you!

  5. julieann081 says:

    I haven’t had an HSG, so can’t help you with the sex question. I have had to ask before because once they really meant *no* sexual activity. Wishing you all the best and hoping for your Christmas miracle! ❤

  6. 2ladiesmakingbabies says:

    No one told me to abstain before the HSG, and it went just fine. I am guessing it’s juts for straights; they probably don’t want to kill a bunch of fresh sperm with the dye they inject. Good luck!

    • DeCaf says:

      Since it was for two weeks, it may just be in case someone ovulates with their period or shortly thereafter and is unknowingly pregnant? That’s the only logic I can make of it. If nobody else was asked to, I’m going to assume it’s for straights only.
      I’ve asked them to put that I’m a lesbian on my chart, but they keep on forgetting to do so. It seems like something that would just save a lot of time for everyone involved.

  7. Caitlin says:

    Hahaha, I know exactly what you mean about being surrounded by straight white males at work! Also, it’s so funny that you don’t want an early September birthday. We think that would be the best time! We are a little bit nutty about sports birthday cut-offs though… which means we will definitely have a mathlete instead of an athlete 🙂

    • DeCaf says:

      Hey, they are all white too!

      September b-days mean 9 months pregnant in August. Although at this point, it doesn’t seem like a big enough disadvantage to not try.

  8. mamaetmaman says:

    Going purely off of your pros/cons list, it seems like it might be more convenient for you to wait. But if you’re impatient like me, sitting out a cycle would be torture.

  9. lezbemoms says:

    Why didn’t I think of looking up studies?! So smart.

    No advice on whether to try or not. You’re spot on with the pros and cons- risk of heartache, but possible baby.

  10. B says:

    My wife had the HSG done and they didn’t give her the no-sex warning (they knew we were lesbians), so I think you’re correct in thinking its just for straights since the chance of getting pregnant is still there and they don’t want to wash it out just in case. 🙂

    • DeCaf says:

      Yeah they’ve also mentioned pregnancy tests a lot, apparently they want me to take one at home and they’re planning on making me take one when I get there.

  11. h3ath3rd says:

    Our clinic put a “global warning” on our chart…it always came up on screen super big – SAME SEX COUPLE! Ha ha

Leave a Reply

