Nope

Third IUI has failed. 14DPO, my temps are down, spotting pretty heavily. I didn’t take Vitex this month since I was planning on doing the CD 21 blood draw, which I had too many feelings (was still dealing with lab error stuff) to call and ask for at the right time.

The lab is paying for the vial they had sent back and shipping at least. HSG in a couple weeks, looking to try again in Feb. Need to figure out back up plan for donor stuff, Ginger Jesus won’t have new vials until May. We’ll be done by then. Part of me wants to be done by now, but I know if I quit now, I may regret not going one step further in the future (trying a medicated cycle). I think I clearly do need some form of medication. I’m guessing my spotting (as it often comes with a temp drop at 9-10 DPO even on cycles I’m not trying) is a sign of a luteal phase defect. If anyone temps and has had a similar history, please let me know.

I need to take my car in to get an estimate for the repair.

And I’m going out of state next week for a week for work, and I’m dreading that. My wife isn’t coming with.

About DeCaf

Just a code monkey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Nope

  1. Becca says:

    Are you switching to a RE clinic in the next cycle? We’ve been blog friends for a little over a year now, and from what I can tell of your personality (being all scientific and all) I would think you might feel a little more comfortable with an expert and increased monitoring of your cycle. For me sending the IUI vial back would have been the last straw with the current place, as if you needed more stress?

    • Becca says:

      I’m breaking my comment up so it’s easier to read. My luteal phase was only 11-12 days which is the shorter end, and my temps would drop at 9-10 DPO. They dropped at 9 DPO on my bfp cycle too only to go back up at 12 DPO. I had no interventions. I think it was an act of God sometimes lol, but I truly believe that TTC (if carrying a baby is something a person really wants) is worth the time and financial investment. It’s brutal going through it, and my chest gets tight even putting myself back there, but it’s like childbirth– once you get through it you kind of forget what it was like.

      • DeCaf says:

        Do you also normally get spotting with the temperature drop? I’m sorry about asking such a personal question. I spot for like 3-4 days before my period most months, it’s very annoying.

        • Becca says:

          I never had spotting before my period until a few cycles into TTC. I swear mother nature was totally messing with me. But a few times I did have it a day or two before AF started. My period hasn’t come back yet… not sure where it is since I’m not really breastfeeding.

    • DeCaf says:

      Yes, we’ve got an intake appointment on the 14th at a RE (we had been going to the Ob/Gyn office. I feel strongly another non-medicated cycle would be a waste of everyone’s time/money, so that’s why I’m saying our next cycle is February.

  2. miku says:

    Sorry to hear this hun x

  3. Sorry about your negative. Hopefully your week away goes quickly

  4. avintageidea says:

    Oh bummer. Hopefully you’ll have more luck with a new clinic.

  5. mamaetmaman says:

    I have a short luteal phase too (8-11days usually), but aggressive progesterone supplementation worked for me during the IUIs. Red raspberry leaf tea, and B6 also helped to lengthen it by two days. Sorry to hear about this cycle. I hope you have more success in February.

    • DeCaf says:

      I’ve been taking a vitamin B complex. I’ve heard not take red raspberry leaf tea during the first trimester so I’d been avoiding it. The overall length is good for me, 13-15 days average is 14, just more often than not, by day 10 I’m spotting.

      • mamaetmaman says:

        I have never really had spotting. It comes full force for me. I’m glad you’re seeing the fertility clinic in Jan, as maybe they can monitor your cycle and see if your progesterone is just really low. In Chinese medicine, it is believed that a weak ovulation will cause a weak luteal phase. I wonder if things will change dramatically with some hormonal support.

  6. AndiePants says:

    Ugh. I’m sorry to hear this. I agree that an RE may have great advice.

  7. I’m sorry. ❤ I hope you can get through this week and the new RE is actually helpful.

  8. Bummer. I’m sorry. I hope 2015 will bring you more luck.

  9. I was in the same spot as you this time last year. We needed to move on to the next step (for us to an OB from at home IUIs) but I was over it and told Lesley I wanted to take all of 2014 off because we were just hemorrhaging money. She convinced me to at least do three tries with the doc and then we could go from there. The next cycle I got pregnant.
    My point is I understand your desire to be done but hopefully taking this next step does the trick. Hang in there, friend.

  10. Rachael says:

    I’m sorry to hear this wasn’t the cycle! 😦 I sure hope 2015 is a better year for you guys. HUGS

  11. Caitlin says:

    Ugh, I’m sorry. At least you and I are going to be synching our attempts – we have the RE intake appointment on January 12th. Expecting our first try (with RE help) in mid-February. I hope we both have Halloween babies!!

  12. twoimmas says:

    Sending you so much love, strength and patience.
    We “paused” for five months and I have to tell you, after 4 failed IUIs, no insurance and moving to a new city the changes and disappointments can be overwhelming.

    AND it’s a new year. I see a lot of baby dust for you in 2015.

  13. Before clomid and progesterone my luteal phase was 8-11 days, now its consistantly 14/15 days. My temps used to drop around 7-9 dpo, then spike for a day or two then drastically crash. I get spotting only a day or two before my period.

  14. Ugh! That sucks!!! I hope you do end up trying again, because really, andything can happen. Try with an RE at least once and then decide what you want to do…spending the money sucks for sure, but its totally worth it…i dont regret spending 25,000+ (well, sometimes…lol! But bot really)

Leave a Reply

