There and back again

So I was out of town last week (if I didn’t like or comment on your post, it’s probably because my phone’s WP app sucks). Now I’m home and loving that and am sleeping in a grown-up bed (Latte put together the bedframe/headboard/etc while I was gone).

I’ve got an HSG tomorrow.

I’ve got the meeting with the fertility doctor on Wednesday.  I’m going to the same doctor as these guys.

Any advice for either?

About DeCaf

Just a code monkey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to There and back again

  1. Take the valum and tylenol they offer you before the HSG and expect a great deal of pain. Its the balloon filling up that hurts and then the time it takes to get the images before the can deflate it. Take your time getting up afterward too. I nearly passed out on the table and in the rest room afterward. Some women are lucky and dont feel much pain, i was not and i know many others with the same experience as me. Good luck i hope it goes smoothly.

    • DeCaf says:

      They have ibuprofen or Tylenol recommended, I normally do well with ibuprofen (I’m not sure I have any Tylenol even). 🙂 I will definitely take it.

  2. xfitinyogi says:

    My wife also went through the HSG and it was quite the challenge to watch that procedure! I agree with @ladyloveandbabydust, take any type of Valium, Xanex or similar to help with any anxiety you may have along with a pain reliever. My wife found the test fairly painful (like a sword fight in her vagina, she said), but tolerable with some breathing and squeezing the crap out of my hand. It’s pretty amazing what the body can endure, and some women don’t find it to be a difficult test at all! Good luck!!!!

    • DeCaf says:

      Yikes. I hate having things in my vagina, but given how I’m trying to get myself in a position where I’ll give birth, I really can’t complain about pain down there.

  3. Molly says:

    Definitely take whatever pain stuff they tell you to. I was miserable, but once it was over I felt much better. Not much lingering discomfort. I hope it goes well!

  4. 2ladiesmakingbabies says:

    Mine was pretty painful too (and it sounds like you’re going to have the same doctor do it–she’s nice, but not the gentlest). I took four Advil an hour beforehand and didn’t think they helped much. but I know a LOT of women who had no pain. I hope you’re one of them! Either way, it’s cool to see your womb and tubes lit up on the screen. 🙂

  5. Elizabeth says:

    HSG wasn’t a problem for me. I was anxious beforehand but was pleasantly surprised at how fast it was and that there wasn’t any pain. The prep work seems to be the longest part. Good luck!

  6. mamaetmaman says:

    I found it super painful the first time, but not painful the second time. DW found it not painful. I took drugs before both of mine, but didn’t feel like it really helped much. DW did hers drug free. Welcome back from your trip! We’ve missed you on here. Yay for an adult bed!

    • DeCaf says:

      I’m oddly not really afraid of pain. I’m spending a lot of time looking online at example hsgs and what they mean. 🙂

      • mamaetmaman says:

        I’m the opposite. I hate pain. I can handle some types- dull achy pain like menstrual cramps and muscle or joint soreness, but definitely not sharp or unexpected ones like dental work. Good luck on your HSG!

  7. I didnt feel too much pain, more discomfort than anything. I took ibuprofen abt an hour before. I’d recommend taking a pad for afterwards (unless you dont mind the super size hospital kotex they usually provide) good luck!

  8. I had to look this up (I have so much to learn). Good luck, maybe you’ll be lucky and it’ll be pain free or quick at least.

  9. X says:

    HSG wasn’t bad for me, either. Little crampy afterward but no big deal – and I thought it was really neat to see the procedure.

    As for fertility doctor, my advice would be to take your charts — they seem really variable which could be complicating things for you and the doctor may be able to discern something from looking at them (though some doctors seem like they could care less).

    Good luck with everything!! 🙂

    • DeCaf says:

      Yeah, after things were inserted everything was fine. I don’t feel that the insertion was even that bad, but then again the thought of possible future childbirth is in my head.

Leave a Reply

