Reproductive Endocrinologist

So going to the proper fertility clinic was good. We met with the RE who was nice, and gave us a lot of paperwork.

Apparently my insurance will cover diagnostic work until I get diagnosed as infertile or something like that.  It doesn’t cover IUIs, but it was nice paying only a copay for the appointment and not the full fee.

Also, it makes me hopeful I won’t have to pay the whole $600 for the HSG.

So we’re getting a test for AMH, and some genetic test Latte was excited about. Lets all find out what I’m a carrier for (I don’t think it’s going to matter, since carriers for the big things that are recessive aren’t allowed to be sperm donors, so there’s not a huge risk).

Next cycle I have a CD3 ultrasound, and then get a script for clomid, and then a CD 12 ultrasound, a trigger shot (still not sure why for that one) and an IUI.

I hope the HSG + clomid do the trick and February is our month.

On an unrelated note, my temps are back down, so I’m guessing I haven’t ovulated yet (maybe my body was just fighting off something for a couple days?).

About DeCaf

Just a code monkey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Reproductive Endocrinologist

  1. Molly says:

    I’m so glad you went and that everything went well. February is looking very promising! Hopefully you’ll respond well to clomid and get some great follicles!

  2. butchjax says:

    Trigger shots significantly improve the timing. Especially if you aren’t doing anything besides temping you’ll want the shot. The monitoring can only do so much, but follicle growth isn’t linear even with meds so you can’t predict ovulation from the ultrasound.

  3. The LadyKing says:

    Glad you might be getting some financial relief. That’s always a win in my book. 🙂

    Sounds like your RE has a solid plan in place. We never had luck with the trigger shot since The Queen’s successful attempts were cycles she ovulated on her own, but I can’t necessarily draw conclusions from that. We had cycles without triggers that didn’t work as well. It was definitely fun getting to poke her though!

    Keeping you in my thoughts for this next cycle! Luck!

  4. Elizabeth says:

    Sounds like a good appt. Just wanted to chime in about the genetics. I did the Counsyl test and found out I was a carrier for a fairly obscure condition that is pretty dreadful. I called the bank to see if the donor had been tested for it. He hadn’t because it was not part of the standard donor test panel. They did offer to reach out to him and ask him to get tested (at our cost) and he agreed. Luckily he was negative. Just wanted to pass that on if you end up carrying something and want the assurance. It was $500 well spent to know it’s not an issue. Good luck with everything. 🙂

    • DeCaf says:

      That sounds like it had a great outcome. 🙂 I think the test I’m doing only tests for like 20 things. I’m pretty sure donors are screened for that many or more. I may be wrong.

  5. mamaetmaman says:

    I’m glad that you had a good appointment. Sounds like you’ll get some good preliminary tests done, and that your next IUI will have a really good chance with perfect timing! I hope February is your month!

  6. Lindsay says:

    Really glad you are going with an RE this coming cycle. Fingers crossed this is IT for you!

  7. Caitlin says:

    I have a good feeling about that February cycle for you!!! Hoping for a BFP!

  8. santosha1203 says:

    Exciting! You’re ready to move forward.

  9. avintageidea says:

    thinking good thoughts for you this next cycle!

  10. B says:

    The trigger’s just to make sure that you ovulate in good timing, especially since your cycle is so closely controlled/monitored, to give you the best chances of catching the egg. Some RE’s use them, some will let you ovulate naturally, it just depends on the doctor. Hope the HSG is covered, and that February brings you good things!

  11. 2ladiesmakingbabies says:

    Yay, glad it went well! I’m sitting in the waiting room there myself, ready for my baseline ultrasound. 🙂

  12. Hey good luck for February! I think the trigger may also be to work around the clinic a bit too? So the timing works for when they want to fit you in? I could be wrong. Or maybe it’s just for them to be as exact as possible. I had them with my two IUIs.

    • DeCaf says:

      I’ve started during a wide variety of times including at night and at noon. It’ll make it easier on me I think. That and the odds don’t look much worse versus surging on my own.

  13. X says:

    Good luck! Glad that you have a plan in place. You may want to ask why the RE is using the trigger shot; not because it matters so much but just so you can get an understanding of the reasoning so you can continue to make informed decisions in the future.

Leave a Reply

