Follow up ultrasound

So I have four follicles that are doing thing and growing. Two have debris (on ol’ reliable lefty).  I’m not sure what that means.

My lining is 8B (B being triple striped). They told me anything over 6 is good. It was 14 last month, but as I understand it, this is 3 days sooner in the cycle, so it may still thicken I think.

I think it’s good or okay? The debris-follicles have me worried. They saw two (bigger ones) at my CD3 ultrasound, and said they may be leftover from ovulating that cycle.

I go back on Tuesday and then they’ll likely have me trigger then. So Thursday IUI is likely.

I don’t think they’re going to let my follicles get as big as last cycle.  I had one follicle that was 28mm and the rest were <14mm. I’ve heard people say things about overripe follicles, I can find information about that on RE’s webpages but pubmed doesn’t seem to have anything, or I’m searching using the wrong terms.

I kind of get frustrated with how much popular-knowledge there is in the fertility community that varies between being somewhat-true and being just wrong (there’s no such thing as an implantation dip for example, it’s a secondary estrogen surge that happens every cycle and may be caught by BBT on some cycles but not others).  I wish there were more concrete answers about what improves your odds. Most IUI research uses small groups and isn’t always reproduced in subsequent studies. You can find research saying that having a full bladder helps. But it’s only one study, of under 500 people total.

Anyway, I am not feeling super hopeful this cycle. And I miss my hour of sleep.

About DeCaf

Just a code monkey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Follow up ultrasound

  1. Fingers crossed hun!
    And i know what you mean about myths and legends. They annoy me too

  2. The LadyKing says:

    I’m not sure there are any two people in the world who agree how to unlock the code that is getting pregnant. For instance, all my kids came on huge, over-ripe follicles. And we’ve never used a BBT ever. It’s just so complicated and entirely unpredictable and for something that is so huge and takes up so much physical, mental, and emotional time, it’s just the worst that we don’t know more and can control even less.

    Thinking of you and hoping it all works out this cycle!

    • DeCaf says:

      BBT = basal body temp, it’s just a way of estimating if you have high progesterone or not (it’s not very accurate but can be used to confirm that you ovulated). If you’re being monitored you generally don’t need to use it. I do it at this point only for want of something to do at 5:30 am.

      I think there’s way too much luck involved in all this, lol. Thanks. 🙂

      • Becca says:

        Luck, chance, commitment, time… I think those are all the major players. I had a total emotional breakdown my last insemination. I told the spouse there was just no way what we were doing was ever going to work. The odds were just too slim. We have an 8 month old now, so I was wrong, but I don’t know why that 7th try worked when the other 6 didn’t, there were months when our timing seemed a lot better.

        • DeCaf says:

          Yeah, I wish I knew why for some women they get pregnant right away or right when they make one change, others seem to just get pregnant almost randomly. There’s really never enough data.

  3. mamaetmaman says:

    What is the debris that is seen with your two left follicles? I’ve never heard of this. I agree that the plethora of information out there is annoying because it’s hard to know what is reliable without some digging, and even then, you’re already down the rabbit hole. The solid thing is that you’re being monitored, so at least you can trust the cross-triangulation between your blood levels and the ultrasounds.

    • DeCaf says:

      No idea, on CD3 they said it was leftovers from the two follicles that ruptured (I had a 28 and a 14 on that side). Today they said they didn’t know, they might have eggs in them. So anybody’s guess.

  4. santosha1203 says:

    Sounds good, I’m sorry you’re not too sure about this cycle. Good luck.

  5. julieann081 says:

    Sending hugs and hope your way! ❤

  6. Lindsay says:

    It’s a wonder how anyone ends up pregnant at all, let alone by accident. I always have those thoughts when I hear of someone having an “oops” baby. Like, WTF? It takes SO much to get pregnant, and stay pregnant. There seems to be no rhyme or reason sometimes.

    I will be hopeful for you for this cycle and await your update on Tuesday.

    • DeCaf says:

      The longer I’ve been TTC the more I think if I were dead set on having a biokid just jumping into IVF would’ve been fairly reasonable.

  7. Caitlin says:

    I had no idea about implantation dips, but I do see them most cycles (and have never implanted, haha). Good luck this round – I hope everything pulls together on Thursday!

  8. Hoping this cycle is it! It’s incredibly frustrating to not get any definitive answers, but I guess it’s also case by case since everyone’s bodies are so different and react differently to different stimuli. But I’m keeping my fingers crossed and hope that this happens for you!

Leave a Reply

