No rest for the wicked

So I just got off the phone with my doctor. They apparently found what might be a polyp. We can cancel this cycle and get a diagnosis and see if insurance will pay to fix it or not. Anyway, yeah, like I didn’t have enough stress this month.

Has anyone else had this happen? What did you so?

About DeCaf

Just a code monkey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to No rest for the wicked

  1. Molly says:

    This is a tough call. When they found my polyp, we delayed things and opted for surgery, but that was before an embryo transfer. I’m not sure I would have called off a medicated IUI. It’s hard to say! Is it a tiny polyp?

    • DeCaf says:

      I was told about 1cm. :-/ your polyp was also right at the transfer site too, wasn’t it?

      • Molly says:

        Yeah, it was. Good memory! I think I’d be hesitant to throw away a medicated cycle at this point if I were you. I’d probably go ahead with the IUI and then explore surgery next cycle, but I’m impatient like that. And I hate the thought of wasting a round of clomid.

        • DeCaf says:

          Clomid has been messing with my head this cycle. I’m leaving towards canceling. I don’t want to do another one after we use up the last of the sperm. Clomid was only nine dollars, the trigger shot and progesterone are much more, it’d be best not to waste them.

          • Molly says:

            There’s your answer then! The only reason I said that about the clomid is that my first dr would only let her patients do 3 rounds of clomid total. My 2nd one let me go to 4, though. But there are lots of people out there who have done more than that. You’re right–clomid is cheap compared to everything else!

        • DeCaf says:

          Question, how long did they make you wait after the surgery to continue treatment?

          • Molly says:

            I am pretty sure they removed the polyp just after my period one cycle, and then we continued things with my next cycle. The polyp was removed around mid-September and my FET was Oct 30, so that seems to fit. It’s a bit fuzzy!

  2. Curious B says:

    Femara was free for me this cycle, edify compared to $10 Clomid isn’t much but I was excited!

  3. mamaetmaman says:

    Oh man. Fertility is full of surprises. Sounds like you have thought out a reasonable plan though. I hope everything goes well, and the polyp is taken care of painlessly. Dreaming of Diapers just posted today about finding a polyp too.

    • DeCaf says:

      We’re still sorting out what we’re going to do. I wish she had told us the location, if it’s by the tubes, it’s much worse then if it were elsewhere. :-/

  4. 2ladiesmakingbabies says:

    Oh no! How did they figure this out?

    • DeCaf says:

      They saw it on my ultrasound. Apparently the Clomid probably made it grow.

      • 2ladiesmakingbabies says:

        That’s so frustrating they didn’t see it while you were in the office. I hope it doesn’t cause any issues this cycle.

        • DeCaf says:

          What will be will be. It’s not even confirmed, it might just be my uterus being weird (considering this is ultrasound 3 of the cycle and the only one it that hints at it). We’re going through with this cycle anyway. I don’t doubt they could diagnose me quickly, but they’d need to refer me back to my obgyn for treatment, we’d need to figure out if the insurance would cover it, and then we’d probably have to wait months for surgery even if it was covered.

  5. Becca says:

    Gotta love those ttc curveballs. Sounds like you are leaning toward taking care of it and waiting a cycle. I say go with your gut.

    • DeCaf says:

      Meh, I thought about it more, odds are it’d drag into multiple cycles and I can’t be sure my insurance would cover it being taken care of and at this point surgery is out of our budget. :-/ We’re going to just go for it.

  6. julieann081 says:

    I’m sorry to hear this. ❤ Many hugs to you!

  7. nikster1979 says:

    Go with your instincts. Sorry you’re having to deal with this, but hopefully it’ll be a fast recovery and you can move on.

  8. That sucks! I don’t know if i would cancel the cycle, but it’s all up to you! Either way, good luck!

Leave a Reply

