What I’ve been up to and a question

I don’t know of you guys noticed I wasn’t posting a ton, but for the last month I’ve been preoccupied. My dearest wife turns 30 this month, and so I’ve been planning a (David Bowie-themed) surprise party for her.

Last night it went off without a hitch. A few people who told me they would come, didn’t (five), but the rest of those who said they’d make it did, and it was fun, there was pizza and ice cream cake for all. (And a lot left in our fridge.)

I did manage to surprise my wife, I’m a horrible liar when it comes to her, so I was pleasantly surprised that she hadn’t caught on. I really couldn’t have done it without help from my neighbor (who stored the cake) and my roommate (who got all of the last-minute setup done while I was dragging her on a trip to an electronics store under the guise of looking at TVs – our current one is 13 years old and was free with a cell phone I bought in 2002).

Anyway, it went well, we had fun, a toddler decided to go for her boobs when he was saying goodbye (the tot’s mom was mortified a bit).

IMG_20150314_181811218[1]

Any way, question for those ladies who have used supplemental progesterone – how many days did it take for the full-crazy to happen? I’m just wondering when I should expect the side effects to get worse. I’m on day 3 and the only side effect I’m really noticing is being less regular, but that kind of happens at this point in my cycle anyway.

I’m testing out the trigger this month (because I have a ridiculous number of pregnancy tests and this is our last cycle although I don’t remember to test every morning).  It’s five days post trigger and it’s still very faintly positive. I’d be surprise if it’s going to remain positive for too much longer.

About DeCaf

Just a code monkey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to What I’ve been up to and a question

  1. I’ve tested out the trigger at 12 days and also at 6 days, so who knows. The progesterone crazy has no rhyme or rhythm for me. But I can remember it being worse the last 7 days before BFP or BFN. But it was only when I was on 200mg.

  2. mamaetmaman says:

    Happy birthday to your wife! A Bowie themed bday would be fun! Progesterone makes me feel bloated, crave salty foods, and makes my breasts sensitive. It also allows me to fall asleep much better than usual. I haven’t noticed that it makes me crazy at all, but I guess I’d have to ask DW about that 😉 How much progesterone do they have you taking?

    I never tested out the trigger, so I don’t know how long that will take.

    Fingers crossed for great things for you this round 🙂

    • DeCaf says:

      200mg twice a day via the lady cave. Thanks. 🙂 you’ve got an ultrasound tomorrow right ?

      • mamaetmaman says:

        I’m on 100mg x 3 times a day (via lady cave) plus 300mg oral at night. I think with IVF they assume that our progesterone won’t be naturally as high as with IUIs (because you ovulate and have a corpus luteum). Are you on Endometrin or Prometrium?

        Yup, ultrasound is tomorrow. I am so nervous.

        • DeCaf says:

          Prometrium. I am using the preseed applicators to get it up in there, it works pretty well. IVF is a much different ball game.
          I’m going to be checking my phone like a mad person tomorrow, your ultrasound and Andie being in labor… It’s an exciting time in this little community.

  3. twomamasonebaby says:

    Omg. A David Bowie-themed party?! I’m jealous. I have a bit of a Bowie obsession myself. 😉

    • DeCaf says:

      Yup, there are a few posters of him over the living room even now. 🙂 I’m not much of a fan of him myself (don’t know why, I don’t get much into music).

  4. Lindsay says:

    That’s such a lovely thing for you to do for your wife’s birthday! I bet you made her so happy. 🙂

  5. santosha1203 says:

    Happy Birthday to your wife! I didn’t have too many side effects from progesterone except for constipation. I took milk of magnesia on the advice of my IVF nurse every other day to stay regular. I may have been a little tired but nothing mood-related, and believe me I’m usually pretty moody. Keep us updated on how the progesterone goes.

  6. Molly says:

    That party sounds fantastic! Now I want cake. (Who am I kidding? I ALWAYS want cake.)

  7. pepibebe says:

    Cool cake! Hilarious about toddler!

  8. Happy 30th to your wife! Good luck not going full-crazy!

Leave a Reply

