It could be worse

I could be as cuckoo as these people

I’ve started using myfitnesspal, and holy crap I eat too many carbs (but I do hit my fiber goal most days which is good for someone who’s gluten-free), and not a lot of protein. That should get fixed.

Also I’ve noticed I tend to be only eat a little under 1200 calories a day most days. I should fix that (my BMI is around 21, I’m not underweight and don’t think I need to lose weight, I’m just not a very hungry person). Apparently on days I don’t work out I should get just under 1600. And because I’ve been doing 30 day shred + either running for 2 miles or walking 2 miles(which takes twice as long) five days a week, I should be hitting closer to 1900 calories on those days.

My goals are currently to keep up the 5 day a week  workouts, and to increase the amount of protein in my diet and decrease carbs, particularly sugar, while keeping the same level of fiber. Eat more healthy food and less junk.

In reproductive news, I have a doctor’s appointment with my obgyn on the 28th. I set up the appointment to be about the polyp. I should get the RE to send the initial data to them I guess. The RE just wants too much for additional testing, which wouldn’t bother me except things like the HSG seem to fall under “things they don’t cover until my deductible is spent”, my deductible isn’t small, and the further testing they want is over a grand.

I bleed/spotted for all but two of the first 18 days of this cycle, it’s been fun. I think it’s done though, but that type of spotting is unusual for me and Dr Google says it’s a symptom of a polyp. So hopefully insurance will be like “yeah, this is a life shouldn’t suck expense, let’s cover it at a higher rate.”

I may ask if they’ll do an endometrial biopsy. Make sure my lining isn’t wonky. I don’t know, I want answers and to know if there’s something we can do so that if we try another cycle we can have decent odds. Right now I doubt another medicated cycle would be anything other than a waste of money.

So yeah, that’s where I am.

About DeCaf

Just a code monkey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to It could be worse

  1. mamaetmaman says:

    I love myfitnesspal. I tend to get a bit obsessive-compulsive with it though, so I’ve not been using it at all since beginning this IVF cycle. I hope you get the tests you need and some answers from your OBGYN. I hope the weather is getting warmer where you are, so that you can enjoy your exercise in the sunshine!

  2. Rachael says:

    I use myfitnesspal as well – not recently because I have been binge eating on different things. But super good program! Good luck with it!

  3. Lindsay says:

    I wish I had that problem you do – forgetting to eat! I love food way too much. I have an on again/off again relationship with MFP.

  4. ❤ ❤
    Oh deductibles. Who came up with those? They are such a horrible idea. I'm sorry you've fallen into that gap for any additional testing. :/ HSGs are relatively simple and yet so expensive and I don't quite understand it.
    It could always be worse, but that doesn't diminish your own pain. I hope the focus on fitness and food helps you feel better.

    • DeCaf says:

      The insurance company that didn’t want to pay came up with those, lol.

      It’ll be okay. The obgyn practice I go to is attached to a hospital and they’re pretty affordable. The RE’s prices make my hair stand on end though.

  5. Molly says:

    I hope you can convince them to take that polyp. Definitely play up the spotting angle. Health insurance deductibles are the devil. I used to have a HUGE deductible when I had a PPO. I was really pissed when my company switched us to an HMO, but I have certainly been loving the lack of deductible.

    • DeCaf says:

      Yeah, fun fact, my insurance will probably be changing in the next 30-60 days anyway. My company is being bought, no idea by who, but it’s likely our insurance will change then. I’m just praying to the financial gods that it’s to a company that covers infertility completely.

  6. twoimmas says:

    I’m sending so much light your way!

Leave a Reply

