Surgery recap

Okay so I’m writing this before surgery.

1.) Apparently I wasn’t supposed to take my fish oil supplements. Nice of anyone to tell me that before yesterday. Yes it was on my chart that I take them.

2.) Nervous about anesthesia, also the code I committed that isn’t reviewed yet (my code reviewer apparently has car troubles today and isn’t in yet).

3.) Worried about how my lovely wife will cope with my impending uselessness. Juggling taking care of me and the puppy will be a bit much for anyone.

When I got home from work yesterday I did the 30 day shred (just starting the 3rd cycle, since I’ve been doing it only about 5 days a week), it kicked my ass. Then I took the puppy on a two mile run. Exercise has become key to handling anxiety lately. The only reason why I haven’t done any this morning is because I can’t eat or drink anything and already feel very hungry. Exercising just exacerbates that.

I hope to finish this post when I get home….

So good news, I feel awake and fine, no drunk-feeling or anything. I mean, I feel like I could take a nap, but not like I’m about to randomly fall asleep. I don’t remember the procedure at all, I just remember them getting me ready on the table and then waking up after everything was done (sorry Speck!).  On the plus side, I got to see pictures of my uterus!

Bad news – there was no polyp. It was just a fibroid that was under the endometrium. So, my infertility is officially unexplained. That makes the prospect of trying again not appealing enough to spend any money on. :-/ I was kind of hoping they’d find something that would explain it at least. At least I had only felt this was a hail mary and not anything that’d be a definite stepping stone to a baby, so my disappointment isn’t as bad as March’s cycle not working out.

About DeCaf

Just a code monkey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Surgery recap

  1. colormeanew says:

    Im happy everything went ok and you made it out alive. But im really sorry about the not knowing or having evidence for why you haven’t gotten pregnant yet. Its a lot easier to know and have proof of whats wrong.

  2. So frustrating! I’m sorry you didn’t get any fixable answers you were hoping for. I unfortunately know how frustrating that is.

  3. mamaetmaman says:

    I’m sorry that they didn’t find anything that they could fix. If the fibroid is under the endometrium, then they can’t access it right? Can it still affect your fertility?

  4. mamaetmaman says:

    I hope you feel better soon so you can get back to your 30 day shred and jogs with puppy!

  5. julieann081 says:

    I’m glad things went well but sorry you didn’t get any answers. I hope you heal quickly. ❤

  6. Ugh, how frustrating. 😦 I’m really glad the procedure went well otherwise. That’s reassuring that you don’t remember anything. How are you feeling now? Any lingering cramps/soreness?
    That’s weird they didn’t tell you not to take fish oil. I have a list of various supplements and pain killers I’m supposed to avoid this week, although idk exactly why. Blood thinning properties I guess?
    There’s still a chance that just getting it all cleared out could help, even if it’s still unexplained. But I don’t want to be like “yeah!! go for another cycle!!” because the financial and emotional strain is still so very high.

  7. Curious B says:

    I can’t this same way after my hysteroscopy. It’s like “really you can’t find anything wrong with me?!” It’s very hard to try again when you’ve done every recommended test and still no information. Very frustrating. Big hugs from me!

    • DeCaf says:

      Yeah, fertility is a bitch. A little voice in my head is telling me it’d take IVF to get pregnant, and most of me is against that – for money reasons and because I’d feel crazy weird about destroying embryos, not that I’m pro life or judge other people doing that.

  8. Curious B says:

    I felt not I can’t*

  9. Lindsay says:

    I’m glad you’re doing okay after the surgery. But I’m disappointed for you that you didn’t get the answers you were looking for. I really hope you heal quickly. Sending you some healing energy.

  10. nikster1979 says:

    Sorry they didn’t find any answers. How frustrating that must be! I hope you find peace in whatever decision you end up making. Sometimes our bodies are just plain bitches.

Leave a Reply

