Post op

So my ob seems to think IVF is my only hope. I will call the RE and get her opinion. IVF isn’t covered by my insurance at and certainly isn’t affordable out of pocket. My company may be changing insurers soon, I really hope that the new stuff will cover fertility stuff.

Here’s the pictures of the inside of my uterus. The top left is before the d&c. To right is by the opening for over of the tubes, middle left the other tube, then the fibroid or something. Bottom left is the after picture. I don’t know what the last is.

image

No structural abnormalities. The fibroid is by the cervix, so it shouldn’t cause any problems, it couldn’t be removed.

Anyway, not sure what’s going to happen, I’m guessing foster care classes are in my future.

About DeCaf

Just a code monkey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Post op

  1. Molly says:

    Did the OB explain why she thinks IVF is your only hope? It seems like everything is pretty normal except for the fibroid. You should totally get a second opinion from the RE. I’m so sorry that’s what you had to hear.

  2. avintageidea says:

    What a bummer. I remember how the feeling with my RE was after that talk. I’ll never be able to afford IVF and that sucks. My wife was a bit hesitant to go the foster route because she is a defense attorney that works with a lot of the families and doesn’t feel comfortable taking on kids with the kids of issues many of them have. And I had to deal with the idea of never having a baby in my life. (I don’t feel comfortable doing foster to adopt) anyway we went through all the classes and now I am so excited! It is really hard at first, but now the idea of having a kid is just so exciting to us.

    • DeCaf says:

      It’s not something I’m ready for right now, but something I want to be ready for at some point. I feel like I have a lot to learn before I feel okay about it.

  3. I hope your new insurance will offer more coverage, if only to keep options open. That’s a lot to process

  4. mamaetmaman says:

    I thought that endometriosis would affect IVF success too? I guess it could affect egg quality as well, but where does she suspect your endometriosis is?

  5. I’m so sorry. I hope your new insurance is much better. Some clinics offer payment plans but that’s still a shit ton of money.
    Is knocking a guy out and stealing his genetic material for unlimited free at home attempts completely out of the picture? JK… mostly.

  6. julieann081 says:

    I hope you get some more information. I’m sending positive thoughts your way! ❤

  7. Lindsay says:

    Oh, no. That is really disheartening news. I’m so sorry. Would you ever want to get a second opinion, if you think that particular OB was just guessing?

    • DeCaf says:

      Yeah, I think he’s proposing that idea because we know it’s not the sperm and my uterus looks fine and the Clomid made sure I was ovulating. It could very well be egg quality issues. I’ll ask the re what her opinion is next week.

  8. Curious B says:

    I feel your pain. It’s good to know that they think they’ve figured out what is hindering your success. I like that much better than the “nothing is wrong so what the hell” diagnosis.
    Good luck with whatever road you venture down.

  9. loveh3 says:

    I will be praying for you. We are currently going thru the adoption process and just finished our last class today. Now on to the home study. If you need someone to talk to I am here.

  10. At one point my RE said he thought I would not get pregnant without IVF. I don’t have endo but without clomid I don’t ovulate, have to be on progesterone to sustain a pregnancy and my egg quality is sub par. We did 14 months of inseminations and the these twins happened. Sometimes I wonder if I had listened to my RE earlier on and gave up….all the what ifs. In sorry you got poor news. I hope you can get a second opinion (if you choose) and also better insurance.

  11. Caitlin says:

    I know how absurd this sounds, but is Mexico an option for IVF? I know it’s a lot less expensive…

Leave a Reply

