Crash

I think this afternoon I must’ve started the hormonal crash from how I stopped all of the meds (estrogen patches and progesterone) yesterday morning. Everything feels bleak, I feel incapable, and like nothing will ever turn out well again.

The doctor asked about doing a FET cycle pretty much immediately after he told me the beta was negative. My gut instinct right now is to protect my remaining two embryos by keeping them as far from my uterus as possible. Or at least not put both in at the same time.

Right now I’m thinking that I don’t want to do the type of medicated cycle that my clinic does (with lupron, estrogen, etc), I’m guessing that all the drugs made my endometrium out of phase with the embryos and that’s why they didn’t implant for the fresh transfer.

Study drops

Medicated FET have increase post-term delivery and C-section rate (post-term is riskier for the baby) – https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/28108841

Femara-cycles for FET seem to have good odds – https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/28398491

Natural cycle appears to have the best outcome in this paper – https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/27798046

Modified Natural cycle seems to offer advantages – https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/27549760

endometrium scratching may help with implantation failure – https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/25064410

 

I’ll probably edit this and add more later.

About DeCaf

Just a code monkey.
This entry was posted in IVF, TTC, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Crash

  1. Caitlin says:

    The hormones are no joke. Hang in there, friend. We’re all pulling for you!

  2. Molly says:

    Hormones are hard. Really hard. I hope you’re hanging in there today. You’ve been on my mind. My RE did the endometrium scratch pre-IVF. Pre-FET, I had a uterine polyp removed which basically accomplishes the same thing. The studies really do seem to support it. I can’t comment on going med-free as mine was not. Compared to IVF, though, the FET meds were a walk in the park. Just estrogen pre-transfer and then they added progesterone post-transfer.

    • DeCaf says:

      My clinic uses lupron (with estrogen) which I won’t go on (I lost one of my favorite coworkers to that medication last year, she began taking it for endometriosis, and it made her suicidal). I’d probably just a low dose of clomid or femara so I’d have a relatively short follicular phase (otherwise my vary between 16-21 days), but still, that’s all very manageable.

      I’m feeling better today emotionally, but yesterday was no joke, I cried about pet cancer existing before work yesterday.

  3. K.M.H says:

    How are you? I’ve been thinking about you lately and hope you’re doing okay!

Leave a Reply

