Year in Review

I stole these from The Mamas Rapscallion

1. What did you do in 2013 that you’d never done before? Had a useful time at a therapist. I’m just too introverted for therapy to work well for me most of the time. As an ISTJ I tend to prefer just to think my way better myself for most things.
2. Did you keep your New Year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year? I made a resolution to keep in contact with my brother more. I did, I may not have made the 1 call/month benchmark I wanted, but I talked to him at least almost every month (I may have missed one or two that didn’t have holidays/events). On the non-New Year’s Resolution front, I kept my goal of doing the 30 day shred and will start running next year.
3. Did anyone close to you give birth? Not really. My roommate’s sister did, but I’ve only met her once (her baby has the littlest fingernails. I just about died and totally blew off a social thing I had been looking forward to.
4. Did anyone close to you die? Yes, my grandmother. In a way, dementia had robbed me of her years ago though.
5. What places did you visit? Ikea? Didn’t have time/money for travel this last year. 😦
6. What would you like to have in 2014 that you lacked in 2013? A baby, or at least a baby-bump that will become a nice healthy baby.
7. What dates from 2013 will remain etched upon your memory, and why? When my grandmother died, I lived with her a little bit as a kid, she always made me feel important and loved. Latte and my anniversary (married 4 years), we got in pretty much the only super serious fight of our over five years of being together, she demanded I call in sick from work or else, we ended up getting into therapy and she finally got help for her depression. Since then things have gone back to being wonderful.
8. What was your biggest achievement of the year? Having survived it? I’m not sure.
9. What was your biggest failure? Letting Latte get into such a bad place, I don’t like being assertive if there’s any pressure back, even when I’m certain I’m right.
10. Did you suffer illness or injury? I got a cold for a couple days. Beyond that I’ve been healthy.
11. What was the best thing you bought? Therapy. Latte is getting her depression under better control and finally understands herself to be more than her mental illness. It’s odd, I could tell that to her until I was blue in the face, but it was something she needed to understand for herself.
12. Whose behavior merited celebration? I’m not sure. The Puppy went from being a cute little hellion to being a bit better (still a bit too friendly with the cats though). She’s in love with BoyCat since he returned from the hospital. It’s cute but kind of sad as he finds her annoying/overbearing.
13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed? Latte when she’s depressed. She’s not abusive, just very negative about herself and her life.
14. Where did most of your money go? House/Latte’s art business/pets
15. What did you get really, really, really excited about? Making plans to start TTC-ing. 
16. What song will always remind you of 2013? I’m really not a music person. Maybe Get Lucky or Blurred Lines because they were overplayed on the radio.
17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
a) happier or sadder? Happier
b) thinner or fatter? Neither, but in better shape. My BMI doesn’t very much, which irks me when I try to diet, but makes me glad when I indulge.
c) richer or poorer? Poorer, see the entries about BoyCat. I spent $1.5k on that cat. He’s worth every penny, but that added to my stupid debt. That being said, our average monthly spending has gone down, so we’ll recover from it quicker than we would’ve last year.
18. What do you wish you’d done more of? I wish I had gotten BoyCat into the vet sooner.
19. What do you wish you’d done less of? Spending money.
20. How did you spend Christmas in 2013? Syringe feeding watered-down wet food to a very sick cat.
21. Did you fall in love in 2013? I always find myself falling more in love with Latte.
22. What was your favorite TV program? Pretty Little Lairs. It’s so bad, it’s fun to watch. Or maybe Parks and Rec, but that show it really hit or miss sometimes.
23. What did you do for your birthday in 2013? I planned on going to an indoor trampoline thing, but then my friends bailed on me so I stayed home. :-/
24. What was the best book you read? Fiction – Gone Girl – Gillian Flynn.Non-fiction – Brain on Fire: My Month of Madness – Susannah Cahalan.
25. What did you want and get? A lot of things. I got a job where I can insure Latte. I got TTC plans in the works. Gay marriage became legal in my home state.
26. What did you want and not get? Completely out of debt.
27. What was your favorite film of this year? Django Unchained.
28. Did you make some new friends this year? Work friends? See new job. Also dog park friends!
29. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying? A cure for depression being invented and widely available.
30. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2012? Huh? Lazy I guess.
31. What kept you sane? Reading and working.
32. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most? Not sure. I tend to not pay attention to celebrities.
33. What political issue stirred you the most? Gay marriage becoming legal in my state.
34. Who did you miss? My best friend from high school. She moved to Canada and now has two kids, so I rarely see her even just online anymore.
35. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2013. I don’t really do “life lessons” as most of what I learned was mostly applicable only to specific situations, not widely useful. I guess that I learned that it’s okay to take it one day at a time sometimes.

 

PS –

Untitled

About DeCaf

Just a code monkey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Year in Review

  1. Make sure you have back up digital OPKs for when you are ready to disseminate, it takes the guessing game out of it when your emotional.

    • DeCaf says:

      After using CVS’s I’ve come to the conclusion that I can deal with comparing lines. I may end up using my scanner and having my computer compare them if I feel super uncertain, but I think it’ll be okay. I am going to go with Molly’s first response advice though.

Leave a Reply

